We use cookies to improve your experience on our site and to show you personalised advertising. To find out more, read our privacy policy and cookie policy

Our people

The team of academics from the School of the Arts, English and Media are professional writers, artists, designers, performers and directors, and are immersed in the world of creative industries.

Head of school

Sue Turnbull (acting)

Deputy head of school

Guy Freer (acting)

Head of Students

Dr Jo Law

Head of Postgraduate Studies

Dr Margaret Hamilton

Honorary Professorial Fellows

Visiting Professorial Fellows

  • Professor Gareth Griffiths
  • Professor Nijmeh Hajjar
  • Professor Peta Tait 

Honorary Principal Fellows

Honorary Senior Fellows

  • Dr David Blackall
  • Associate Professor Les Blakebrough AM
  • Timothy Daly
  • Associate Professor Anne Ferran
  • Robert Leonard
  • Dr Eric Loo
  • Associate Professor Paul Sharrad  

Senior Research Fellow

Honorary Fellows 

  • Dr Sally Borrell
  • Dr Maureen Clark
  • Dr Elizabeth Eastland
  • Dr Michael Jacklin
  • Dr Irene Lucchitti
  • Dr Marion Mccutcheon
  • Dr Robyn Morriss
  • Dr Jenny Pausacker
  • Dr Jennifer Phillips
  • Dr Denise Russell
  • Dr Janine Sager
  • Dr Diana Thomas
  • Dr Richard Thompson
  • Dr Deidre Wicks

Visiting Fellow

  • Dr Anna Funder 

Honorary Post-Doctoral Research Associates

  • Dr Louise Boscacci
  • Dr Megan Brown
  • Dr Nicola Heywood
  • Dr Phillipa Newling
  • Dr Leonie Watson

Hall Murray
Manager, Technical Services
hmurray@uow.edu.au 

Glenn Alexander
Technical Officer, Digital Media
galexand@uow.edu.au

Didier Balez
Technical Officer, Visual Arts - Sculpture
bdidier@uow.edu.au

Alistair Davies
Technical Officer, Performance and Theatre
daviesg@uow.edu.au

Aaron Hull
Technical Officer, Audio Production
aaronh@uow.edu.au

Anna Jones
Technical Officer, Communications and Media
amjones@uow.edu.au

Stacie Sims
Technical Officer, Visual Arts - Textiles and Printmaking
stacies@uow.edu.au

Tom Williams
Technical Officer, Photography
tomw@uow.edu.au

For equipment loans, production studio and edit suite bookings

P: 4221 5599
E: taem-techsupport@uow.edu.au

For more information on specific academic or professional staff, please visit the university contact directory.

Close