We use cookies to improve your experience on our site and to show you personalised advertising. To find out more, read our privacy policy and cookie policy

Key Academic contacts

Do you need assistance?

Your first step in getting great advice is to contact the Student Services Centre or LHA Central.

If your enquiry is related to a specific subject, please contact the subject coordinator. Subject coordinators are listed on the subject Moodle site or via your timetable in SOLS.

More specialist degree advice can be given by our Academic Program Directors and Discipline leaders listed below.

Academic Program Directors and Discipline leaders are academic staff members who can provide strategic leadership for one or more UOW coursework programs, and who takes ultimate responsibility for key areas of the course design and course performance.

Key Academic contacts by school

Head of Postgraduate Studies
Dr Margaret Hamilton

Honours Coordinator
Associate Professor Shady Cosgrove

Research Leader
Senior Professor Sue Turnbull

Contemporary Arts (Discipline leader)
Guy Freer

Creative Industries (Discipline leader)
Dr Teodor Mitew

English and Writing (Discipline leader)
Dr Ika WIllis

Bachelor of Creative Arts/ Bachelor of Performance Academic Program Director
Dr Joshua Lobb

Bachelor of Communications and Media/ Bachelor of Journalism Academic Program Director
Dr Christopher Moore

Primary Education Academic Program Director
Dr Ken Cliff

Primary Course Advisor (Yr 1-2)
Associate Professor Michelle Eady

Primary Course Advisor (Yr 3-4)
Dr Ken Cliff

Health and Physical Education Academic Program Director
Dr Greg Forrest

Science and Mathematics Education Academic Program Director
Dr Peter Andersen

Head of Postgraduate Studies
Associate Professor Steven Howard

Early Years Education Academic Program Director
Associate Professor Cathrine Neilsen-Hewett

MTeach-Primary Education Academic Program Director
Dr Kellie Buckley-Walker

MTeach-Secondary Education Academic Program Director
Ms Amy Tsiorvas

Postgraduate Coursework
Dr Amanda Baker

Honours Coordinator
Dr Dylan Cliff

School of School of Geography and Sustainable Communities Academic Program Director
Dr Chris Brennan-Horley

Undergraduate Public Health Academic Program Director
Dr Kishan Kariippanon

Bachelor of Social Science Academic Program Director
Dr Delia Rambaldini-Gooding

Bachelor of Social Work Academic Program Director
Dr Jodie Park

Honours Coordinator
Dr Heike Schütze

Postgraduate Public Health Academic Program Director
Dr Hassan Hosseinzadeh

Postgraduate Social Work Academic Program Director
Associate Professor Jioji Ravulo

Higher Degree Research Coordinator
Head of Postgraduate Studies

Dr Anne-Maree Parrish

Work Health and Safety/Occupational Health and Safety Academic Program Director
Dr Vinod Gopaldasani

Head of Postgraduate Studies
Dr Jane Carey

Honours Coordinator
Dr Rowena Ward

History (Discipline leader)
Dr Stephen Brown (Acting)
HIST111: Associate Professor Di Kelly (Acting)

Philosophy (Discipline leader)
Dr Michael Kirchhoff

Sociology (Discipline leader)
Dr Andrew Whelan

Politics & International Studies (Discipline leader)
Dr Marcelo Svirsky

Languages & Linguistics (Discipline leader)
Dr Xiaoping Gao

Cultural Studies, Indigenous Studies, Science & Technology Studies and Environmental Humanities (Discipline leader)
Professor Ian Buchanan

100 Level Coordinator
Dr Tracey Woolrych

200 Level Coordinator
Dr Samantha Reis

300 Level Coordinator
Associate Professor Adam Clarke

400 Level Coordinator (Honours)
Dr Amy Chan

Head of Postgraduate Studies
Associate Professor Stephen Palmisano

Deputy Head of Postgraduate Studies
Dr Sebastien Miellet

Director of Professional and Clinical Psychology Training
Professor Brin F. S. Grenyer

Deputy Director of Professional and Clinical Psychology Training
Associate Professor Vida Bliokas

Singapore Program Director
Dr Simone Favelle