We use cookies to improve your experience on our site and to show you personalised advertising. To find out more, read our privacy policy and cookie policy

Honorary alumni

The University recognises outsanding achievement, exceptional service and significant contribution through the granting of the following honorary awards; Honorary Doctorate, Emeritus Professorship, University Fellowship and Community Fellowship.

2020 Emeritus Professorship recipients

Mark McLelland (dec'd)

Emeritus Professor

Awarded for his distinguished and remarkable career and contributions to the University of Wollongong and the teaching and research community.


2020 University Fellowships

Julie Renwick

University Fellow

Awarded for her significant contribution to academic and governance leadership which underpins every aspect of the UOW College Australia as we know today.


Peter Fitzgerald

University Fellow

Awarded for his lifetime of outstanding service to the University of Wollongong and to the development of a thriving Illawarra community.



Deborah Ely AM

University Fellow

Awarded for her significant service to the visual arts and arts education, and creating educational, cultural and social opportunities for the Shoalhaven and beyond.


Honorary Alumni Chapter

The Honorary Alumni Chapter is a network of alumni who have been awarded either a University Fellowship, an Honorary degree or an Emeritus Professorship from the University of Wollongong. The Chapter meets regularly to discuss and organise ways in which they can support the University through advocacy, projects and activities.

Find out more