Our people

Name Position Email
Associate Professor Susan Engel Associate Professor in Politics and International Studies and Centre Co-Director, 
Global Development and Rights Cluster Lead
sengel@uow.edu.au
Professor Phil Orchard  Professor of International Relations and Centre Co-Director,
School of Humanities and Social Inquiry
orchardp@uow.edu.au
Dr Peter Andersen Senior Lecturer in Primary Education, School of Education petera@uow.edu.au
Dr Anu Bissoonauth-Bedford Senior Lecturer, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry anu@uow.edu.au
Dr Shawn Burns Lecturer in Journalism, School of the Arts, English, and Med shawn@uow.edu.au
Associate Professor Jane Carey Associate Professor in History, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry jcarey@uow.edu.au
Professor Sharon Crozier-De Rosa Professor in History, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry sharoncd@uow.edu.au
Izabela Da Costa Pereira Watts Sessional Lecturer in Politics and International Studies, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry iwatts@uow.edu.au
Associate Professor Shoshana Dreyfus Associate Professor, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry shooshi@uow.edu.au
Associate Professor Tim DiMuzio

Associate Professor in International Relations and Critical Political Economy, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry

tdimuzio@uow.edu.au 
Associate Professor Charles Hawksley  Associate Professor in Politics and International Studies, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry  charlesh@uow.edu.au 
Dr Rachel Loney-Howes Lecturer in Criminology, School of Health and Society  rlhowes@uow.edu.au 
Associate Professor Claire Lowrie Senior Lecturer in History, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry  clowrie@uow.edu.au 
Dr Adam Lucas Senior Lecturer, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry  alucas@uow.edu.au 
Dr Nicola Marks Senior Lecturer, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry  nicolam@uow.edu.au 
Professor Julia Martinez Professor in History, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry  juliam@uow.edu.au
Dr Jordan McKenzie  Senior Lecturer in Sociology, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry  jordanmc@uow.edu.au 
Associate Professor Rebekkah Middleton Associate Professor, School of Nursing  middle@uow.edu.au 
Dr Hironori Onuki Lecturer in Politics and International Studies, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry  honuki@uow.edu.au 
Dr Lynn Sheridan  Senior Lecturer, School of Education  lynns@uow.edu.au 
Dr Ana Stevenson

Lecturer (Pathways), University of Southern Queensland and UOW Honorary Lecturer

ana.stevenson@usq.edu.au
Dr Farzana Tanima  Lecturer, Faculty of Business and Law, UOW Dubai.  farzanat@uow.edu.au 
Dr Rowena Ward Senior Lecturer, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry  roward@uow.edu.au 

Dr Cammi Webb-Gannon

Lecturer and Deputy Honours Coordinator, School of Health and Society camellia_webb-gannon@uow.edu.au
Dr Andrew Whelan  Senior Lecturer, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry  awhelan@uow.edu.au 
Name Dissertation Title
Tatiana Andersen Assetization in the Life Sciences: A Critical Political Economy of Military Biosciences
Mareen Brosinsky Seeking Accountability for the Crime of Forced Displacement: The Effectiveness of Universal Jurisdiction as a National Response Mechanism
Julie Cunningham I'm Still Here, International Labour Migration and the Children Left behind: Hearing the Voices of children Traversing Transnational Households in Tonga
Nadia Gregory

"Working together, working apart”: Multiracial connections across women’s organisations in the South African anti-apartheid movement

Rachel Macpherson

Women’s Suffrage and Women’s Identities: Layers of belonging from the local to the transnational in the US and Australia, 1880-1914

Liam Moore Norms, protection, and the development of climate-related displacement policies in the Pacific
David Pedersen COVID-19, Crisis and tourism in Indonesia: a critical political economy
Atsushi Yamagata Japanese Responses to Refugees
Name Position Email

Professor Katie Barclay

Professor, School of Humanities, Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Economics, University of Adelaide

katie.barclay@adelaide.edu.au

Dr Marc Calvini-Lefebvre

Lecturer, Aix-Marseille University, France

marc.calvini-lefebvre@univ-amu.fr

Senior Professor Emeritus Vera Mackie Senior Professor Emeritus of Asian and International Studies, School of Humanities and Social Inquiry vera@uow.edu.au