Members

Prof Clare Murphy
Director
P: +61 2 4221 5065
E: clarem@uow.edu.au
Remote sensing of atmospheric composition using ground-based Fourier-transform spectroscopy. Atmospheric impacts of bushfires. Understanding sources and fates of trace gases in the atmosphere and impacts on air quality.
View publications

Dr Nicholas Deutscher
Deputy Director
P: +61 2 4221 4104
E: ndeutsch@uow.edu.au
Column and surface measurements of greenhouse gases. Novel profiling applications of greenhouse gases measurement techniques. Atmospheric transport modelling of greenhouse gases. Combining multiple scale and multiple tracers to optimise flux estimates within atmospheric transport models.
View publications

Dr Christopher Caldow
E: ccaldow@uow.edu.au
Investigation of global biogeochemical cycles, particularly greenhouse gas sources and sinks. Measurement of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere along with greenhouse gas partial pressure measurements in inland waters, estuaries and oceans. Atmospheric composition, meteorology and water biogeochemistry. Drivers of greenhouse gas fluxes and the development of strategies to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

Associate Professor Jenny Fisher
P: +61 2 4221 5484
E: jennyf@uow.edu.au
Chemical transport modeling of atmospheric composition and mercury biogeochemistry. Integration of model output with observational datasets including surface, airborne, and satellite. Focus on atmospheric impacts of human activity, natural processes, and their interactions.
View Publications

Senior Professor David Griffith 
P: +61 2 4221 3515
E: david_griffith@uow.edu.au
Atmospheric composition, especially greenhouse gases and their isotopic variations. Solar remote sensing, in situ measurements using optical (infrared) techniques. Sources and sinks of greenhouse gas emissions, especially in agriculture. Validation of satellite measurements of greenhouse gases.
View publications

Dr Elise-Andree Guerette
P: +61 2 4221 5808
E: guerette@uow.edu.au
Investigating impacts of trace gases on air quality. In situ measurements of volatile organic compounds. Evaluation and verification of meteorological and chemical transport models, with a focus on regional air quality.

Dr Nicholas Jones
P: +61 2 4221 5808
E: njones@uow.edu.au
Remote sensing of atmospheric composition using ground-based methods (NDACC). Validation of satellite data relevant to atmospheric chemistry (e.g. ACE, GOME, SCIAMACHY, ENVISAT). Mathematical inverse methods as applied to analysis of spectroscopic data. Development of analysis code from spectroscopic data (SFIT4).
View publications

Dr Frances Phillips
P: +61 2 4221 4104
E: francesp@uow.edu.au
Quantifying local sources of greenhouse gases to the atmosphere, with focus on agricultural systems and methods for mitigating emissions. Interest in developing methods to measure fugitive emissions from coal mining and coal seam gas production.
View publications

Dr Voltaire Velazco
P: +61 2 4221 5808
E: voltaire@uow.edu.au
Remote-sensing of atmospheric trace gases (TCCON). Validation of Earth-observing satellites (SCIAMACHY, ACE, GOSAT OCO-2). Transport analysis using the STILT model. Pollution hotspot identification for future satellites (GOSAT-2 & CarbonSat).
View publications

A/Prof Stephen Wilson
P: +61 2 4221 3505
E: stephen_wilson@uow.edu.au
Spectroscopic studies of atmospheric chemistry, including irradiance measurements, aerosol optical depth and differential optical absorption spectroscopy. Studies of regions from the clean marine through to urban atmospheres.
View publications

Dr Rebecca Buchholz
E: buchholz@ucar.edu
Postdoctoral Fellow, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Honorary Postdoc Research Associate Fellow, School of Chemistry and Molecular Bioscience, UOW

Dr Scott Chambers
E: szc@ansto.gov.au
ANSTO
Honorary Fellow, School of Chemistry and Molecular Bioscience, UOW

Dr Ian Galbally
E: galbally@uow.edu.au
Honorary Professorial Fellow, UOW
Post Retirement Fellow, CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere

Dr Alan Griffiths
E: agf@ansto.gov.au
ANSTO
Honorary Fellow, School of Chemistry and Molecular Bioscience, UOW

Dr Ruhi Humphries
E: Ruhi.Humphries@csiro.au
Postdoctoral Fellow, CSIRO
Honorary Fellow, UOW

Dr Sam Marx
P: +61 2 4221 5318
E: smarx@uow.edu.au
School of Earth, Atmospheric and Life Sciences, UOW

Dr Khalia Monk
E: khalia.monk@environment.nsw.gov.au
NSW Office of Environment and Heritage

Dr Paolo Sebastianelli
E: paolos@uow.edu.au
Honorary Fellow, School of Earth, Atmospheric and Life Sciences, UOW

Dr Ann Stavert
E: Ann.stavert@csiro.au
CSIRO
Honorary Fellow, UOW

Dr George Takacs
P: +61 2 4221 4897
E: gjt@uow.edu.au
School of Physics, UOW

Dr Nsikanabasi Umo
E: numo@uow.edu.au
Alexander von Humboldt Fellow, Germany
Honorary Fellow, School of Chemistry and Molecular Bioscience, UOW

Dr Alastair Williams
P: +61 2 9717 3694
E: alastair.williams@ansto.gov.au
Research Leader, ANSTO
Honorary Fellow, School of Chemistry and Molecular Bioscience, UOW

A/Prof Adam Trevitt
P: +61 2 4221 5545
E: adamt@uow.edu.au
Laser chemistry and spectroscopy. Reaction dynamics and kinetics of radicals and ions. Synchrotron photoionization mass spectrometry. Combustion chemistry. Microdroplet tweezers and mass spectrometry.
View publications

Jesse Greenslade
PhD Thesis: Measurements and Modelling of Atmospheric Ozone and Volatile Organic Compounds Over Australia

Neil Page
PhD Thesis: Improving the representation of atmospheric Mercury over the Southern Ocean in GEOS-Chem

Shyno Susan John
PhD Thesis: Variability of carbon monoxide in Australia from satellite and ground-based measurements
Jhonathon Ramirez Gamboa
PhD Thesis: Improving our understanding of biogenic emissions in south-east Australia.
Maria Paula Perez-Pena
PhD Thesis: Effects of new carbonyl photolysis mechanisms on atmospheric chemistry model estimates
Lily Sheridan
PhD Thesis: To be determined

Graham Kettlewell
E: grahamk@uow.edu.au

Travis Naylor
E: naylort@uow.edu.au

Recent alumni from the Centre for Atmospheric Chemistry have gone on to a wide range of roles:

PhD Alumni

Doreena Dominick (2019)
Beata Bukosa (2019)
Bart Vaughn (2016)
Elise Andree-Guerette (2016) -- now Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Wollongong
Christopher Hansen (2015) -- now Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Bristol (UK)
Ruhi Humphries (2015) -- now Postdoctoral Fellow at CSIRO
Rebecca Buchholz (2014) -- now Postdoctoral Fellow at National Center for Atmospheric Research (US)
Ann Stavert (2012) -- previously Research Associate at University of Bristol (UK), now Project Scientist at CSIRO
Mei Bai (2011) -- previously Research Scientist at CSIRO, now Research Fellow at University of Melbourne
Nicholas Deutscher (2010) -- previously Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Bremen (Germany), now Research Fellow at University of Wollongong
Clare Murphy (2009) -- now Associate Professor at University of Wollongong
Stephen Parkes (2008) -- previously Atmospheric Scientist at ANSTO, now Research Scientist at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (Saudi Arabia)

MSc/MRes Alumni

Neil Page (2017) -- now PhD student at University of Wollongong
Martin Henchion (2011) -- now in Scientific Sales

Honours Alumni

Kaitlyn Lieschke (2015) -- previously student at University of California, Berkeley (US), now consultant at Ramboll
John Demol (2010) -- previously at ANSTO, now PhD student at ANSTO & Murdoch University
Ruhi Humphries (2010) -- previously PhD student at University of Wollongong, now Postdoctoral Fellow at CSIRO
Emma Young (2010) -- now at ANSTO Environmental Monitoring Section
Christopher Caldow (2009) -- now PhD student at University of Wollongong
Christina McLachlan (2009) -- previously at Bluescope, now Hub Logistics Scheduler - Iron Ore at BHP Billiton, Perth
Christopher Miller (2009) -- now PhD student at Harvard University (US)