Current students

AskUOW team is your first point of contact

The AskUOW team is your primary administration contact point for help with your enrolment, official documentation, fees, accommodation, exchange, scholarships and more. 

Contact us on 1300 275 869 or

Resources and support

Faculty Prizes and Awards

2022 Faculty prize night

Each year the Faculty of Science, Medicine and Health holds an annual awards and prize night in recognition and celebration of our highest achieving students.

The 2023 Awards and Prize Night was held on Monday 26, June 2023 in the University Hall. All prize and awards recipients and their families were invited to attend.

Photo's from the 2022 Faculty Awards and Prize Night

Photo's can be found on our Current Student Events Flickr page

The Allan Sefton Memorial Lecture and Prize is an annual event in honour of the late Allan Sefton, who was well known in the Illawarra for his work as a naturalist and conservator of the local environment. In recognition of his contributions to environmental science in the Illawarra region, the Allan Sefton fund is used to award a prize to the best student graduating in the Bachelor of Environmental Science Honours Program at the University. The prize was first presented in 1993.

The Bert Halpern Lecture and Student Prize Night is an annual event presented by a distinguished scientist on a subject in Chemistry or Biochemistry. It honours the memory of Bert Halpern, the Foundation Professor of Chemistry at the University of Wollongong from 1970-1980. In recognition of his contributions to science, he was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 1978.

2023 Graduate School of Medicine Emeritus Professor John Hogg Memorial Lecture and Prize Night held on Friday, 1 December.

Our guest speaker for the night was Professor Gary Rogers, Dean of the School of Medicine at Deakin University. Professor Gary D. Rogers is not only a renowned health professions educational leader but also a distinguished public health researcher and GP with a specialized focus on HIV medicine. We were honoured to have him share his insights and experiences with our community, adding a valuable perspective to our celebration.

In addition to Professor Rogers' address, the ceremony included the awarding of prizes and scholarship and concluded with a special and meaningful moment. Our graduating students took part in tradition by reading the Declaration of Geneva. This oath is a significant commitment to the ethical principles of the medical profession. Witnessed by their families, friends, and colleagues, this symbolic gesture marks the beginning of their journey as healthcare professionals dedicated to upholding the highest standards of patient care.

We would like to thank our donors, sponsors, and organisations for their ongoing support to the Graduate School of Medicine and more importantly, our students.  Congratulations to our newest graduating class of doctors.



Virtual tour

AskUOW team

Open hours: 9am - 5pm, Mon - Fri, including session breaks (exceptions apply)