Scheduled maintenance

IT Scheduled Maintenance

The goal of Scheduled Maintenance is to maintain central IT facilities on a regular basis while minimising interruption to normal business functions, and also considering vital operations in the University calendar such as enrolments, teaching, examinations and graduation.

Unless otherwise noted, all regular Scheduled Maintenance windows begin at 6:00pm and conclude the following day at 8:00am. If there are any exceptions to these times they will be communicated prior to the date.

Times are presented in AEST/AEDT.

These dates have been discussed with all relevant parties.

Notes

  • Disaster Recovery (DR): DR exercises are essential for risk mitigation and ensure our IT infrastructure and processes will remain operational in the event of a disaster.
  • Security Patching: Every Thursday from 5:00am-7:00am Security Patching of core infrastructure will be conducted. There may be short outages to systems during this window.

For more information on these scheduled maintenance activities, please contact the IMTS Service Desk on ext 3000.

Approved 2018 dates

Spring Session 2018
Date Maintenance
Saturday, 11 August
Saturday, 25 August
Saturday, 1 September To ensure the ongoing protection of UOW systems, IMTS will be applying the latest security and application updates during scheduled maintenance, commencing 6pm Saturday until 8am Sunday.

There will be intermittent outages to most services.
Saturday, 6 October
Saturday, 13 October
Summer Session 2018/2019
Date Maintenance
Saturday, 1 December Disaster Recovery Exercise - 6:00am–6:00pm
It is expected that core services such as phones, Internet, WiFi and security systems, will remain operational.

The UOW website will experience brief outages at the beginning and end of the outage while it switches between our primary and secondary sites.

All other services will be unavailable for the duration of the exercise.
Friday, 7–Saturday, 8 December Moodle upgrade: scheduled to commence in the evening of Friday 7/12/2018 and to complete by mid-day of Saturday 8/12/2018.
Saturday, 15 December
Saturday, 12 January 2019
Saturday, 2 February 2019
Last reviewed: 28 August, 2018