Our people

UOW’s School of Education is nationally recognised for its innovative preservice teacher education programs, and has long-standing international links in teaching, research and professional experiences.

Head of School

Professor Penny Van Bergen

Deputy Head of School

Associate Professor Jessica Mantei

Head of Students

Dr Peter Andersen

Head of Teaching and Learning

Dr Ken Cliff

Head of Research

Associate Professor Sarah Howard

Head of Postgraduate Studies 

Dr Tiffani Apps
Dr Rachel Jones

Emeritus Professors

Fellows of the University

Professorial Fellows

  • Peter Freebody
  • Garry Hoban
  • Lori Lockyer
  • Debra Myhill
  • Sarah O’Shea
  • Jim Tognolini

Principal Fellows

  • Brian Cambourne
  • Brian Ferry

Senior Fellows

Honorary Fellows

Visiting Professors

Visiting Associate Professors

  • Rebecca Eynon

Bega Valley, Eurobodalla & Southern Highlands Campuses

Dr Susan Duchesne

Shoalhaven Campus

Dr Noelene Weatherby-Fell

For more information on specific academic or professional staff, please visit the university contact directory.