Faculty contacts

Heads of Postgraduate Studies and Associate Deans (Higher Degree Research)

At UOW each faculty has an Associate Dean (HDR) and each School has a Head of Postgraduate Studies. Each Head of Postgraduate Studies is responsible for managing probation, annual progress reports and research proposal reviews, as well as overseeing the administration and governance of higher degree research studies in their school. You may from time to time require their approval for candidature changes or other matters.

Head of Postgraduate Studies - Outline of Duties

Select your faculty/institute from the list below to find their name and contact details.

School

Head of Postgraduate Studies

Email

The Arts, English and Media

Associate Professor Guy Davidson

guy_davidson@uow.edu.au

Humanities and Social Inquiry

Dr Anu Bissoonauth-Bedford (Acting)

anu_bissoonauth_bedford@uow.edu.au 

Liberal Arts

Dr Ronald Planer

ronald_planer@uow.edu.au 

Education

Associate Professor Rachel Jones

Dr Tiffani Apps

education-hps@uow.edu.au

Health and Society

Associate Professor Chris Degeling

Dr Alankaar Sharma

has-hps@uow.edu.au

 

Psychology

Dr Briony Larance

briony_larance@uow.edu.au 

 Associate Dean (Higher Degree Research)

 Position

Name

Email

Associate Dean (HDR)

Associate Professor Catherine Mac Phail

catherine_macphail@uow.edu.au

School

Head of Postgraduate Studies

Email

Business

Associate Professor Xiaofei Pan

business-hps@uow.edu.au

Law

Associate Professor Gabriel Garcia

gabriel_garcia@uow.edu.au 

ANCORS

Dr Sarah Lothian (Acting)

sarah_lothian@uow.edu.au

 Associate Dean (Higher Degree Research)

Position

Name

Email

Associate Dean (HDR)

 Associate Professor Gabriel Garcia (Acting)

gabriel_garcia@uow.edu.au

School

Head of Postgraduate Studies

Email

Civil, Mining, Environmental and Architectural Engineering

Professor Neaz Sheikh

neaz_sheikh@uow.edu.au

Computing & Information Technology Engineering

Professor Hoa Dam

hoa_khanh_dam@uow.edu.au 

Electrical, Computer & Telecommunications Engineering

Associate Professor Kwan-Wu Chin

kwan-wu_chin@uow.edu.au

Physics

Associate Professor Moeava Tehei

moeava_tehei@uow.edu.au   

Mathematics & Applied Statistics

Prof Adam Rennie 

adam_rennie@uow.edu.au

Mechanical, Materials, Mechatronic Biomedical Engineering

Professor Buyung Kosasih

buyung@uow.edu.au

Intelligent Polymer Research Institute

Associate Professor Wei Kong Pang

wei_kong_pang@uow.edu.au

Institute for Superconducting and Electronic Materials

Associate Professor Wei Kong Pang

wei_kong_pang@uow.edu.au

 Associate Dean (Higher Degree Research)

Position

Name

Email

Associate Dean (HDR)

Senior Professor Huijun Li

huijun_li@uow.edu.au

 

School

Head of Postgraduate Studies

Email

Chemistry & Molecular Bioscience

Professor Ronald Sluyter

ronald_sluyter@uow.edu.au

Earth, Atmospheric & Life Sciences

Professor Bo Li

bo_li@uow.edu.au

Medical, Indigenous and Health Sciences

Professor Todd Mitchell

todd_mitchell@uow.edu.au

Nursing

Dr Joel Zugai 

son-hps@uow.edu.au

Graduate School of Medicine

Dr Greg Peoples

greg_peoples@uow.edu.au 

Position

Name

Email

Associate Dean (HDR)

Professor Danielle Skropeta

smah-hdr@uow.edu.au