CSES Members

Dr Bethany Hoye
Co-Director

Phone: +61 2 4252 8209
Email: bethany_hoye@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Disease ecology and migration biology including; transmission of pathogens and symbionts in wildlife, impact of pathogens and symbionts on animal performance, ecological disturbance and animal movements, and ecological consequences of animal migrations.

Associate Professor Owen Price
Co-Director
Phone: +61 2 4221 5424
Email: oprice@uow.edu.au "
Specialisation areas: Bushfire risk management, landscape ecology, spatial analysis, conservation biology.

Prof. David Ayre
Phone: +61 2 4221 4266
Email: dja@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Evolutionary consequences of variation in the mating systems of terrestrial plants, population genetics and marine ecology of invertebrates and fish, behavioural ecology (pollinator behaviour and behaviour of marine invertebrates).

Prof. Ross Bradstock
Phone: +61 2 4221 5531
Email: rossb@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Fire ecology, conservation biology, landscape ecology, climate change.

Dr Phillip Byrne
Phone: +61 2 4298 1932
Email: pbyrne@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Evolutionary biology, behavioural ecology, assisted reproductive technology, anthropogenic impacts on animal behaviour, amphibian ecology. 

A/Prof. Laurie Chisholm
Phone: +61 2 4221 3765
Email: lauriec@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: The application of remote sensing, GIS and advanced modelling techniques to investigate impacts of both natural and anthropogenic disturbances on the dynamics of ecological systems. 

Dr Hamish Clarke
Phone: +61 2 4221 5729
Email: hamishc@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Bushfire risk, climate change impacts, environmental management. 

Prof. Andy Davis
Phone: +61 2 4221 3432
Email: adavis@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Ecology of invertebrate larvae, chemical ecology, defensive strategies in marine invertebrates, human impacts on natural systems, structure and dynamics of invertebrate assemblages, pattern and determinants of biodiversity. 

Dr Anastasia Dalziell
Email: anastasia_dalziell@uow.edu.au 

Prof. Kris French
Phone: +61 2 4221 3655
Email: kris@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: How anthropogenic disturbances interrupt populations and communities (from plants through to insect and vertebrates and from arid grasslands, forests, and dunes to plantations).

Dr Chris Friesen
Email: cfriesen@uow.edu.au

Mr Chris Gorden
Email: gordonc@uow.edu.au

Dr Emily Howells
Email: ehowells@uow.edu.au

Dr Meaghan Jenkins
Phone: +61 2 4298 1140
E: mjenkins@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Fire ecology, soil-plant interactions, bushfire fuels, pyrogenic carbon, biogeochemistry. 

Dr Kimberly Maute
Phone: +61 2 4252 8522
Email: kmaute@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Bird conservation and ecophysiology, pesticide impacts on native fauna. 

Dr Katarina Mikac
Phone: +61 2 4221 4266
Email: kmikac@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Biosecurity/quarantine entomology, population genetics and DNA diagnostics, wildlife genetics, ecology of threatened mammals.

A/Prof. Todd Minchinton
Phone: +61 2 4221 5188
Email: tminch@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Population and community ecology of benthic invertebrates, insects, and plants in coastal terrestrial, marine, and estuarine habitats; importance of dispersal, habitat selection, and colonisation to the structure and dynamics of populations and communities; influence of natural and anthropogenic disturbance on recruitment, population dynamics, and species diversity; predicting how humans will destroy the planet and developing conservation strategies to avoid this.

Senior Prof. Sharon Robinson
Phone: +61 2 4221 5753
Email: sharonr@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Monitoring plant responses at a range of levels, from the molecular to the ecological, to examine: how plants respond to Climate Change induced environmental stress in Antarctica and Australia (Plant Stress Ecophysiology); the mechanisms that allow thermoregulatory plants to maintain their flowers at temperatures well above ambient air temperatures (Hot Plants).

Dr Aimee Silla
Phone: +61 2 4221 3149
Email: aimee_silla@uow.edu.au

Dr Johanna Turnbull
Phone: +61 2 4298 1146
Email: johanna_turnbull@uow.edu.au

A/Prof James Wallman
Phone: +61 2 4221 4911
Email: jwallman@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Evolution and biology of Diptera, especially Calliphoridae; forensic entomology.

Dr Melinda Waterman
Phone: +61 2 4221 5373
Email: melindaw@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Organic chemistry, environmental science and management, plant biology.

Dr Joshua Whittaker
Phone: +61 2 4298 1164
Email: wjoshua@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Human geography.

Dr Marian Wong
Phone: +61 2 4221 3574
Email: marianw@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Behavioural ecology of marine and freshwater fishes, conservation biology of marine and freshwater fishes, tropical and temperate fish ecology, life history and physiology.

Dr Philip Zylstra
P: +61 2 4221 5041
E: philip_zylstra@uow.edu.au 
Specialisation areas: Ecology.

Dr Mick Ashcroft
Email: ashcroft@uow.edu.au 

Dr Tony Auld
Email: tony.auld@environment.nsw.gov.au

Dr Michael Bedward
Email: mbedward@uow.edu.au

Professor William Buttner
Email: buttemer@uow.edu.au

Mr Andrew Denham
Email: adenham@uow.edu.au

Mr Andrew Denham
Email: adenham@uow.edu.au

Professor Tony Hulbert
Email: hulbert@uow.edu.au

A/Professor Di Jolley
Email: djolley@uow.edu.au

Dr Zbynek Malenovsky
Email: Zbynek.Malenovsky@utas.edu.au

Professor Barry Osmond

Dr Natalie Rosser
Email: narosser@uow.edu.au

Dr Elizabeth Tasker