We use cookies to improve your experience on our site and to show you personalised advertising. To find out more, read our privacy policy and cookie policy

Our people

Academics and Staff

Dean of Law and Head of School

Professor Trish Mundy
law-dean@uow.edu.au

Deputy Head of School

Dr Gabriel Garcia
ggarcia@uow.edu.au 

Discipline Leader and Academic Program Director 

Karina Murray
kmurray@uow.edu.au

Clinical Legal Education and Professional Engagement

John Littrich
littrich@uow.edu.au

School Research Leader

Professor Nan Seuffert
nan_seuffert@uow.edu.au

First Year Coordinator

Dr Ryan Kernaghan
ryan_kernaghan@uow.edu.au

Head of Postgraduate Studies

Associate Professor Sheikh Solaiman
sheikh@uow.edu.au

Honours Coordinator

Dr Luis Gomez Romero
lgromero@uow.edu.au

Head of Students

Dr Kylie Lingard
Enquire online 

Legal Intersections Research Centre Director

Professor Nan Seuffert
nan_seuffert@uow.edu.au

UOW Judge in Residence, the Hon Terry Buddin SC, joined the School of Law in July 2012. He served as a Justice of the Supreme Court of NSW from 2002 to 2012. Before retiring from the Supreme Court, Professor Buddin was widely regarded as one of the leading criminal lawyers on the Court, both as a trial judge and as a judge sitting on the Court of Criminal Appeal. He practised extensively in criminal law and related areas as both a solicitor and a barrister and co-authored a leading criminal law book that became the standard case book for students and practitioners. He took silk in 1996 and held the following statutory appointments: Director of Public Prosecutions (ACT), Senior Public Defender (NSW) and Crown Advocate (NSW).

More recently, he served as an Acting Judge of Appeal of the Supreme Court of Western Australia. In that capacity, he was part of a Bench which delivered judgment in one of that State’s most high profile murder cases.

Professor Buddin has taught at the Australian Advocacy Institute and since 2004 has been a presenter with the National Judicial Orientation Program (for new judges). He currently also serves as a Deputy President of the Mental Health Review Tribunal of NSW. He was Code of Conduct Commissioner for Cricket Australia from 1999 until 2013. Prior to that, he was Chairman of the Judiciary Committee for Cricket NSW.

 

Image: The Hon. Terry Buddin SC, UOW Judge in Residence © The West Australian

 

Casual staff

  • Harry Abelas
  • Adam Booker
  • Dr Keely Boom
  • David Boutros
  • Renee Brunero
  • Lachlan Bryant
  • Mike Devitt
  • Stephanie Dyball
  • Hayley Kelloway
  • Caroline Hamilton
  • Dr Grace Lin
  • Erin Lynch
  • Melea Mullard
  • Samantha Schier
  • Hugh Selby
  • Candice Visser
  • Dr Yucong Wang
  • Ray Willis

John Littrich
Senior Lecturer / Discipline Leader: Clinical Legal Edu & P.E.
john_littrich@uow.edu.au  


Pariz Lythgo-Gordon
Lecturer
pariz_lythgo-gordon@uow.edu.au 


Meredith McLaine
Lecturer
meredith_mclaine@uow.edu.au


Ben Mostyn 
Lecturer 
benjamin_mostyn@uow.edu.au


Professor Trish Mundy
Dean of Law
trish_mundy@uow.edu.au 


Karina Murray
Senior Lecturer / Discipline Leader
karina_murray@uow.edu.au


Dr Tom Musgrave
Senior Lecturer
thomas_musgrave@uow.edu.au  


Associate Professor Julia Quilter
Associate Professor
julia_quilter@uow.edu.au


Mark Saunders
Lecturer
mark_saunders@uow.edu.au


Dr Andy Schmulow
Senior Lecturer
andy_schmulow@uow.edu.au 


Professor Nan Seuffert
School Research Leader / Director - Legal Intersections Research Centre (LIRC)
nan_seuffer@uow.edu.au


Associate Professor Cassandra Sharp
Associate Professor
cassandra_sharp@uow.edu.au


Dr Elizabeth Sheargold
Lecturer
elizabeth_sheargold@uow.edu.au 


Associate Professor Sheikh Solaiman
Associate Professor/ Head of Postgraduate Studies
sheikh_solaiman@uow.edu.au


Kate Tubridy
Lecturer
kate_tubridy@uow.edu.au


Associate Professor Markus Wagner
Associate Professor/ Student International Mobility Adviser
markus_wagner@uow.edu.au


Dr Sarah Wright
Lecturer
sarah_wright@uow.edu.au

Alex Groot-Koerkamp
Manager (Acting), School of Law
alexandra_groot-koerkamp@uow.edu.au

 

Natalie Tuccia
Administrative Assistant
natalie_tuccia@uow.edu.au

Melissa Pandevski
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
melissa_pandevski@uow.edu.au

Honorary Professorial Fellows

Visiting Professorial Fellows

  • Professor Daniel Howard SC
  • Professor Luke McNamara

Honorary Principal Fellows

  • Dr Samuel Mullins

Honorary Professor

  • Dr Ashley Tsacalos

Honorary Senior Fellows

  • Elizabeth Ellis
  • Barbara Nicholson

Honorary Fellows

  • Abu Noman M Atahar Ali
  • Dr Afroza Begum
  • Dr Peter Blanchard
  • Michael Devitt
  • Dr Caroline Dick 
  • Professor Malcolm Farrier 
  • Dr James Goudkamp 
  • Dr Brett Heino 
  • Edward Muston
  • Dr Linda Steele

Visiting Fellows

  • Glenn Kolomeitz
Close