About Us

About Us

The School is recognised nationally and internationally as a leading teaching and research centre in the areas of electrical and electronic engineering, computer engineering and telecommunication engineering. These areas are very important in the Australian and global economy, and hence graduates in these areas are highly employable and enjoy very good starting salaries both in Australia and internationally. We offer a Bachelor of Engineering degree with specialised discipline areas including:

  • Electrical Engineering;
  • Computer Engineering; and
  • Telecommunications Engineering.

This undergraduate degree requires four years of full-time study. If you are leaving High School (with an HSC or equivalent) or have a TAFE qualification and/or relevant industry experience, this degree is designed for you to pursue a career as a professional engineer.

We offer postgraduate coursework degrees to enable people to advance their knowledge and skills in their chosen specialised discipline area. Master’s degrees can be one or two years in duration. With a bachelor degree in electrical and electronic engineering, telecommunication engineering, computer engineering or other similar areas, you are qualified for direct entry into our Master's program by coursework. If your bachelor degree is in other engineering or science areas, there is a pathway program available for you.

The School also offers postgraduate research degrees to students who want to advance their career by professional training in research and development. The Master of Engineering by Research usually requires 1.5 years of full-time research work and is available to students with a Bachelor degree in relevant engineering areas with an average mark of 67.5 out of 100. If you have a Bachelor degree with first-class honours in relevant engineering areas, you may choose to take the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) program, which usually takes 3 years.

As a leading research-intensive unit, the School has a team of academic staff members of international standing, who can supervise you to achieve your goal in your postgraduate research work. The School promotes collaborative teaching and research with staff involved in two University research strengths: Information and Communication Technology Research (ICTR) and Engineering Manufacturing (EM). Research areas include intelligent mechatronics, power quality and reliability, emerging networks and applications, visual and audio signal processing, and optoelectronic signal processing. As a postgraduate research student, your research work will be conducted in one of the research centres (or laboratories) within ICTR or EM.

Your education and development as a professional engineer is our core business. The curricula underlying the degrees we offer have been developed and regularly reviewed to ensure their effectiveness in producing graduates of high quality and value to the industry. As a student, you will be equipped with in-depth discipline knowledge and the necessary skills to pursue life-long learning and career development as professional engineers. These include the ability to formulate and solve problems through scientific and intuitive methods, the skills to approach engineering analysis, design and management systematically, and the capability of working effectively in a multidisciplinary and multicultural environment.

As a graduate of our School, you will have an understanding of the responsibilities as professional engineers with full commitment to the Engineers Australia Code of Ethics. You will be a globally recognised professional engineer with the requisite knowledge, skills and attitudes to further develop in your chosen career. The success of our degrees in meeting this aim is evidenced by the number of our graduates employed by large corporations in Australia, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, Europe and Asia.