Council and its Committees

 2017 UOW Council Members pictured above from left to right:
Front: Mr Michael Zelinsky, Mr Yuxi Ruan, Ms Jillian Broadbent AO, A/Prof Rodney Vickers, Prof Wilma Vialle, Mrs Julie Gray
Middle: Mr Noel Cornish AM, Ms Nieves Murray, Ms Jane Bridge, Dr Liz Magassy, Prof Nan Seuffert
Back: Mr Robert Ryan, Mr Dom Figliomeni, Mr David Groves, Prof Paul Wellings CBE, Mr Zachary Fitzpatrick, Mr Peter Fitzgerald


The following new members are congratulated on their election to 
Council for terms commencing 1 January 2017:

Mr David Groves – Council appointed member
Mr Yuxi Ruan – Postgraduate Student member
Mr Zachary Fitzpatrick – Undergraduate Student member

The following members are also congratulated on their re-election to
Council for terms commencing 1 January 2017:

Professor Nan Seuffert – Academic Staff member
Ms Jane Bridge – Council appointed member
Ms Nieves Murray – Council appointed member 


The Agenda is sent to all members, at least one week in advance of a meeting.

The minutes are circulated to members after the meeting for confirmation at the following meeting.


The Chief Administrative Officer, Ms Melva Crouch, is the Secretary to the Council. She is responsible for the preparation and issue of all Council documents. She is assisted by the Deputy Secretary, Dr Nancy Huggett.


The Act provides that the Council may by resolution delegate all or any of its powers and functions under the Act, except the power of delegation itself, to any members or to any committee of its members, or to any officer or officers of the University. Committees of Council may decide matters within delegations received from the Council, but otherwise make recommendations to the Council.


The Council resolved in August 1975 that Council meetings would be open to members of the University (although attendance is limited to 10). Members of the University wishing to attend a Council meeting should contact Dr Huggett, Deputy Secretary to Council, in advance of the meeting.

The Vice-Chancellor arranges for decisions of the Council to be reported to the press whenever this is appropriate.

Committee Dates

2018 Schedule of Committee Meetings (Draft)

The 2018 Schedule of Committee Meetings is currently under development. All approved and tentative dates advised to Governance have been updated on this schedule.

Please send any additions or changes to Governance.

2017 Schedule of Committee Meetings

This schedule includes meeting details for University Council and Council Committees, Academic Senate and its committees, as well as Faculty and other University Committees.

The 2017 Schedule of Committee Meetings is currently up to date. Any additions or changes should be sent to Governance.