Wollongong Academy for Tertiary Teaching & Learning Excellence


WATTLE members are passionate about Teaching and Learning, click on the videos to hear about the benefits of being involved:

Enhancing the student learning experience and developing opportunities for staff in teaching and learning at the University of Wollongong.

The Wollongong Academy for Tertiary Teaching & Learning Excellence (WATTLE) is a leadership community dedicated to providing space for teaching and learning recognition, development, passion and dialogue.

The WATTLE Academy was established in May 2014 and currently has a membership of over 200 Senior Fellows, Fellows and Associate Fellows committed to enhancing the learning experience of all our students. 

Every member of staff, whether they are part of the teaching, research or professional areas of the university, employed as casual, part-time or continuing are welcome to become members of this Academy. WATTLE aims to create a community of practice where a diversity of expertise can be recognised and utilised to further teaching and learning at UOW and beyond.

Our Academy focuses on promoting the following areas:

  1. Building a higher education-focused community of expertise, scholarship and research to lead discussion, collaboration and innovation in University teaching and learning, within and outside of the University of Wollongong.
  2. Building networks of knowledge fostering national and international relationships with respect to teaching and learning.
  3. Increasing UOW’s national and international reputation with respect to teaching and learning.

We welcome you to join our community or contact the committee.

Pictured L-R: WATTLE Executive Committee - Dr Tracey Kuit, Dr Kathryn Harden-Thew, Associate Professor Sarah O'Shea (Chair), Dr Simon Bedford. Committee members not pictured: Dr Ruth Walker and Dr Brad Stappenbelt

Coming Events

6 July 2017: WATTLE Workshop: Rethinking Assessment - An Academic Program Director’s Guide

7 July 2017: WATTLE Workshop: Shifting the focus from skills to ‘graduateness’


Congratulations go out to the 2017 recipients of the Vice-Chancellor's Outstanding Contributions to Teaching and Learning (OCTAL) Awards.  Thank you for your continued contribution to teaching excellence at UOW.

UOW continues to be recognised nationally for quality teaching practices and outstanding contributions to teaching and learning.

 AAUT Program recipients 2016

On 1 December 2016, the Research and Critical Analysis (RCA) Program team (SMAH) received a 2016 National Award for Programs that Enhance Learning for Innovation and Flexibility in curricula, learning and teaching.

Citation recipients Citation recipient_Roy Brown

On 16 September 2016, WATTLE members Roy Brown and Dr Belinda Gibbons received 2016 National Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning. Dr Gibbons pictured second from left. Mr Brown was congratulated by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at a WATTLE networking event in October.

Contact us 

Members are warmly invited to share ideas and feedback at any time. Contact us at wattle-academy@uow.edu.au