Nine students awarded prestigious Westpac scholarships

Nine students awarded prestigious Westpac scholarships

UOW and Westpac celebrate a decade of partnership in scholarship program

Nine University of Wollongong (UOW) students have been awarded prestigious Westpac Scholarships, including seven Young Technologist and two Asian Exchange Scholarships, as the University celebrates 10 years of partnership with Westpac Scholars Trust.

Each year Westpac Scholars Trust awards 100 new scholarships to young Australians with the passion and ambition to drive positive change.

Westpac Young Technologist Scholarships are designed for exceptionally talented and curious students committed to advancing their skills and passion in technology to drive innovation and create positive impact. UOW’s 2024 Young Technologist Scholarship recipients are Euan Christopher, Amelie Sedmak, Andrew Heins, Claire Kitching, Matthew Nuske, Thomas Moore and Loren Yusuf.

Georgi Coddington and Maggie Khan received Westpac Asian Exchange Scholarships, which offer opportunities for cross-cultural learning and leadership development. Recipients will pursue immersive international education experiences in one of six Asian destinations, with Georgi to attend Nanyang Technological University in Singapore and Maggie opting to pursue a cultural, social and political education experience at Sophia University in Japan.

Young Technologist Scholar Claire Kitching is passionate about developing innovative solutions for healthcare challenges.

“I will be studying biomedical engineering, that is the development of innovative solutions for healthcare challenges, encompassing the design of medical devices, diagnostic tools, and biomedical systems,” she said.

Claire Kitching, 2024 Westpac Young Technologist Scholarship recipient.

“I hope to specialise in growing essential organs, like hearts and lungs, to reduce the need for organ transplants resulting from diseases, such as cystic fibrosis or fatal genetic heart abnormalities.

“The Westpac Young Technologists Scholarship holds a profound significance for me – it represents not only a financial support system to assist me throughout my education but, perhaps more pertinently, an invaluable opportunity to engage and network within a community of like-minded individuals who share my passion for technology and innovation.”

UOW Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Academic and Student Life) Professor Eileen McLaughlin congratulated the scholarship recipients.

“Our partnership with Westpac has been celebrating and nurturing bright young minds for a decade now and we look forward to it continuing for many more years to come," Professor McLaughlin said.

“This initiative is not just about providing financial support but also about nurturing the next generation of leaders who will drive meaningful change and innovation in our society.”

The Young Technologist Scholars receive up to three years of comprehensive support, including financial assistance for their studies (valued up to $20,000 each), networking opportunities, access to mentoring programs, and paid internships alongside senior business leaders and industry experts.

The Westpac Asian Exchange Scholarship is for passionate and curious individuals looking to expand their worldview, embrace new perspectives and help build stronger ties between Australia and Asia. Scholars receive funding ($12,700 each) to undertake studies in a selected destination in Asia for up to two semesters. This funding supports travel, study and living expenses.

One of the highlights for scholars from both programs is the opportunity to enhance their critical soft skills through the Disruptive Leaders Program, which includes a transformative five-day experience in Singapore, to foster international perspectives and foster new avenues of thinking.

Scholars will have access to paid internships, mentors, and the opportunity to become lifelong members of the W100 Scholars Network, providing a strong foundation for their future careers.