University of Wollongong Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation) Professor Jennifer L. Martin AC

PERL Fellowships announced

PERL Fellowships announced

Funding scheme supports emerging researchers on key projects under the mentorship of established researchers

The University of Wollongong has announced 28 research fellows as part of its Prioritising Emerging Research Leaders (PERL) Fellowship Scheme at the Research and Innovation Forum for UOW staff on Wednesday morning. 

The Fellowships, supported by $5 million from a Federal Government research support program initiative were available to academics (Levels A-C) and designed to mitigate the impact of COVID-19 on Australia’s research workforce, initiatives and activities.  

UOW Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) Professor Jennifer L. Martin AC (pictured) said that emerging researchers would be provided with short-term support on key research projects under the mentorship of established UOW researchers.  

"I am delighted to announce a turbo boost for our emerging research leaders. The PERL fellowship aligns with UOW’s research strategy to create knowledge for a better world and deliver impactful research that drives positive change," Professor Martin said 

"Our future depends on our emerging research leaders, and our strongest teams will need that diversity of characteristics and backgrounds that we see represented in our PERL Fellows. Congratulations and well done!" 

PERL Fellowships align with priorities in the UOW Reconciliation Action Plan and UOW 2020-2025 Strategic Plan.

We would like to congratulate all of our PERL Fellows: 

Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities 

  • Nick Brancazio 
  • Megan Hammersley 
  • Briony Larance 
  • Scott McKinnon 

Business and Law 

  • Elizabeth Dale 
  • Marlene Longbottom 
  • Michelle Voyer 

Engineering and Information Sciences 

  • Saree Alnaghy 
  • Ashley Ansari 
  • Andrew Johnstone 
  • Leela Kempton 
  • Intae Kim 
  • Clayton McDowell 
  • Donghong Ning 
  • Robert Ogie 
  • Ramethaa Pirathiban 
  • Zengji Yue 
  • Hongyi (David) Zhao 
  • Hao Zhou 

Science, Medicine and Health 

  • Anastasia Dalziell 
  • Christopher Friesen 
  • Holly Hunt 
  • Isabella Lambert-Smith 
  • Andrew Robinson 
  • Lisanne Spenkelink 
  • Andrew Tague 
  • Samantha Wade 
  • Binwei Zhang