UOW researchers named among the world’s most influential

UOW researchers named among the world’s most influential

Highly Cited Researchers list identifies scientists ranked in the top 1% by citations for their field and year. 

Ten University of Wollongong (UOW) researchers have been named among the world’s most influential scientists in the Clarivate Analytics 2018 Highly Cited Researchers report, with one researcher making the list twice for her work in different fields.

Now in its fifth year, the citation analysis identifies researchers who are having the greatest impact on the research community as determined by their peers around the globe, measured by the rate at which their work is cited by others

To be ranked a Highly Cited Researcher, scientists have to have distinguished themselves by publishing a high number of papers over the previous decade that rank in the top one per cent most-cited for their field and year.

The Highly Cited Researchers report highlights the significant contribution that the Australian Institute for Innovative Materials (AIIM) makes to UOW’s research output. Eight of UOW’s Highly Cited Researchers work at AIIM, a world leader in materials science research which this year celebrated its 10th anniversary.

AIIM is home to leading research groups, including the Institute for Superconducting and Electronic Materials (ISEM), and the Intelligent Polymer Research Institute (IPRI).

“This is an outstanding result for AIIM and the University,” Professor Will Price, Executive Director of AIIM, said.

“It is testament to the investment and commitment the University has provided over AIIM’s 10 years. It is not only excellent recognition for these leading researchers, but also reflects the hard work and quality research of all staff and students within the Institute.”

Distinguished Professor Hua Kun Liu, a leader in energy materials, had the exceptional outcome of making the list twice, in the categories of chemistry and materials science.

The Director of ISEM, Distinguished Professor Shi Xue Dou, who is also on the list for his research in materials science, attributed his Institute’s success to a strategy that emphasises the development of new talent and to giving researchers academic freedom to pursue research in areas they choose.

“This is a collective success. It is not the result of one or two heroes, but the result of the whole team,” Professor Dou said.

“ISEM’s leadership and culture is to motivate researchers to achieve their highest potential by providing opportunities without constraints – and that freedom has resulted in academic excellence.”

The ISEM researchers on the list are Professor Dou, Professor Liu, Professor Zaiping Guo (also a member of the School of Mechanical, Materials, Mechatronic and Biomedical Engineering), Professor Jiazhao Wang, Associate Professor Shulei Chou and Professor Yoshio Bando.

From IPRI, 2017 NSW Scientist of the Year Distinguished Professor Gordon Wallace AO, Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science, and Professor Jun Chen, were also highly cited.

Distinguished Professor Richard “Bert” Roberts and Professor Zenobia Jacobs are also included on the 2018 Highly Cited list in the field of Social Sciences (general). Both are world-leading geochronologists from the Centre for Archaeological Science and the ARC Centre of Excellence for Australian Biodiversity and Heritage. It is the fifth year in a row that Professor Jacobs has been included on the Highly Cited Researchers list.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) Professor Judy Raper will present each of the University’s Highly Cited Researchers with a special award on December 11 to recognise their outstanding achievements.

“I’d like to congratulate all of our Highly Cited Researchers, who are globally recognised leaders in their fields,” Professor Raper said.

“It is immensely gratifying to see that the investment the University has made in materials research over many years has paid off and we continue to be a world powerhouse in this area.”



Institute for Superconducting and Electronic Materials

Distinguished Professor Shi Xue Dou (Materials Science)
Distinguished Professor Hua Kun Liu (Chemistry, Materials Science)
Professor Zaiping Guo (also a member of the Faculty of Engineering and Information Sciences) (Cross-Field)
Professor Jiazhao Wang (Materials Science)
Associate Professor Shulei Chou (Cross-Field)
Professor Yoshio Bando (Materials Science)

Institute for Intelligent Polymers

Distinguished Professor Gordon Wallace (Cross-Field)
Professor Jun Chen (Cross-Field)


Centre for Archaeological Sciences

Distinguished Professor Richard ‘Bert’ Roberts (Social Sciences, general)
Professor Zenobia Jacobs (Social Sciences, general)