Prof Heather Yeatman wins Sidney Sax Award for public health

Prof Heather Yeatman wins Sidney Sax Award for public health

UOW’s Public and Population Health expert and Head of School of Health and Society, Professor Heather Yeatman, has been awarded the prestigious 2016 Sidney Sax Award by the Public Health Association of Australia (PHAA).

PHAA bestows the award annually to a person who has provided a notable contribution to the protection and promotion of public health, solving public health problems, advancing community awareness of public health measures and advancing the ideals and practice of equity in the provision of health care.

The award was presented at the joint 44th Annual PHAA and 20th Chronic Diseases Network Conference dinner.

PHAA CEO Michael Moore said Professor Yeatman was utterly deserving of the award.

“Heather has made enormous contributions to public health especially in food and nutrition.

“Her dedication to the PHAA as the president of the Board since 2012 has played an integral part in establishing the strong advocacy work the PHAA presents today.

“She has served two terms as President on the Board and will stay on as Vice-President of Development. Her knowledge and experience is paramount to developing strong policies especially in food and nutrition,” Mr Moore said.

Mr Moore said the PHAA Board considered several outstanding candidates for the award before determining, (without her knowledge) to recognise Heather as the Sidney Sax recipient.

The award came as a complete surprise to Professor Yeatman.

“I was so shocked by the announcement and feel honoured to receive the award among public health greats including Neal Blewett AC, Stephen Leeder AO, Simon Chapman AO and Mike Daube AO and Nicola Roxon.

“I feel humbled to be recognised for my work in the public health field and aim to continue to live up to the award,” said Professor Yeatman said.

Faculty of Social Sciences Executive Dean, Professor Glenn Salkeld, said he was proud to see one of the faculty’s leading academics receive national recognition.

“It is great tribute to Heather and her leadership and advocacy for public health and its ideals that she has received this award.

“Congratulations Heather – from all of us in the Faculty of Social Sciences,” Professor Salkeld said.

Professor Yeatman has worked in food and nutrition policy across the spectrum of local, state, national and international levels and has held leadership positions on numerous government and non-government boards and committees in the areas of food standards, food labelling, complementary medicines, animal welfare and agricultural chemicals.