UOW Research Awards

Excellence in Research Awards

Recognising the achievements of our academic staff and their collaborators as part of the UOW Vice-Chancellor's Staff Awards.

Nominate now for the 2017 Awards

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Researcher of the Year

The Vice-Chancellor’s Research Excellence Award for Researcher of the Year acknowledges outstanding contributions to research by UOW individual researchers. The purpose of this Award is to recognise and encourage outstanding researchers with proven international reputations undertaking research that is of major importance in its field and who have made a significant contribution in advancing knowledge and research outcomes.

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Emerging Researchers

The Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Emerging Researchers is designed to encourage outstanding researchers who are within the first seven years of their research career to continue to pursue research excellence. The Award is intended to reward the achievement of high quality outcomes by emerging researchers and to recognise the important role emerging researchers play at UOW. 

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Interdisciplinary Research Excellence

The Vice-Chancellor’s Interdisciplinary Research Excellence Award recognises outstanding contributions to research by a team of UOW researchers collaborating across discipline boundaries, who have combined their expertise to produce achievements of outstanding international significance.

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Research Supervision

The Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research Supervision recognises on-going commitment and dedication to successful research student supervision. 

Award for Outstanding Achievement in Research Partnership and Impact

The Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Achievement in Research Partnership and Impact recognises the importance that UOW research staff play in the process of initiating, developing, enhancing and managing UOW’s research partnerships and contributing to the translation of UOW research outcomes to industry, government and the community.

For more information on the Vice-Chancellor's Staff Awards for Excellence in Research, please contact the Research Services Office:
E: research-services@uow.edu.au
T: 02 4221 3386

2016 recipients

Researcher of the Year

Award Recipients: Prof Zhengyi Jiang and Prof Willy Susilo (Joint Winners) 

Emerging Researcher 

Award Recipient: Dr Jenny Fisher
With Highly Commended: Dr Bridget Kelly  

Interdisciplinary Research  

Award Recipients: Prof Lorna Moxham, Mr Christopher Patterson, Dr Renee Brighton, Dr Dana Perlman, Dr Susan Sumskis, Mr Tim Heffernan and Ms Ellie Taylor. 
Project: Recovery Camp – is an Australian first project that operates as both a professional experience training opportunity for students of pre-registration health programs and as a recovery-focused experience for those living with a mental illness. 

With Highly Commended: Prof Paul Cooper, A/Prof Ross Gordon, Prof Gordon Waitt, Ms Katherine Butler, Ms Kate Roggeveen, Mr Michael Tibbs, Dr Georgios Kokogiannakis, Mr Clayton McDowell and Ms Laia Ledo Gomis.
Project: Energy and Illawarra – the team were successful in winning a grant as one of twenty across Australia that received funding under the Australian Government’s Low-income Energy Efficiency Program (LIEEP). The grant brings in excess of $1 million to the University of Wollongong in research funding and $1.3 million invested in the Illawarra Region, creating local jobs and improving the lives of older low-income households.  

Outstanding Achievement in Research Partnership  

Award Recipients: A/Prof Thomas Astell-Burt, Dr Xiaoqi Feng and Western Sydney Local Health District 
Project: Taking The Heat Out Of Our Hotspot: The Western Sydney Diabetes Research Partnership  

Outstanding Achievement in Research Commercialisation, Impact and Engagement

Award Recipient: Dr Zhenguo Huang 
Project: Research collaborations with Boron Molecular resulting in an IP Licensing deal in which Boron are manufacturing three compounds based upon the technologies developed by Dr Huang at the University of Wollongong. 

Excellence in Research Supervision  

Award Recipient: Prof Dianne Jolley  
With Highly Commended: Prof Sue Bennett and Dr Nicola Evans   

Graduate Research School

Graduate Research School

Innovation & Commercial Research

Innovation Campus ICR