Council and its Committees


The University of Wollongong Act 1989 (as amended) provides that the governing authority of the University shall be the Council. The Council acts for and on behalf of the University and controls and manages the University's affairs.



The following new members are congratulated on their election to
Council for terms commencing 1 January 2016:

Professor Nan Seuffert – Academic Staff Member
Ms Julie Gray – Non-Academic Staff Member
Miss YangMing Goh – Undergraduate Member

Associate Professor Rodney Vickers is also congratulated 
for his re-election as an Academic Staff Member.

The following members are congratulated on their reappointment to Council by the
Hon. Adrian Piccoli MP, NSW Minister for Education, for terms commencing 1 January 2016:

Mr Noel Cornish – Ministerial Appointment
Dr Elizabeth Magassy - Ministerial Appointment.



Dr Stephen Andersen OAM, Ms Jane Bridge, Ms Jillian Broadbent AO (Chancellor),
Mr Noel Cornish (Deputy Chancellor), Mr Dom Figliomeni, Mr Peter Fitzgerald,

Miss YangMing Goh, Mrs Julie Gray, Dr Elizabeth Magassy,
Ms Nieves Murray, Mr Bradley Parkinson, Mr Robert Ryan,
Professor Nan Seuffert, Professor Wilma Vialle, A/Professor Rodney Vickers,
Professor Paul Wellings CBE (Vice-Chancellor) and Mr Michael Zelinsky.




Meeting Dates and Deadlines

Six meetings are normally held in alternate months from February each year.

A quorum consists of a majority of the total number of members.

Agenda and Council Papers

The Agenda is sent to all members, at least one week in advance of a meeting.
The minutes are circulated to members after the meeting for confirmation at the following meeting.

The Secretary to the Council

The Chief Administrative Officer, Ms Melva Crouch, is the Secretary to the Council. She is responsible for the preparation and issue of all Council documents. She is assisted by the Deputy Secretary, Dr Nancy Huggett.

Public Access to Meetings

The Council resolved in August 1975 that Council meetings would be open to members of the University (although attendance is limited to 10). Members of the University wishing to attend a Council meeting should contact Dr Huggett, Deputy Secretary to Council, in advance of the meeting.The Vice-Chancellor arranges for decisions of the Council to be reported to the press whenever this is appropriate.

Status of Council Committees

The Act provides that the Council may by resolution delegate all or any of its powers and functions under the Act, except the power of delegation itself, to any members or to any committee of its members, or to any officer or officers of the University. Committees of Council may decide matters within delegations received from the Council, but otherwise make recommendations to the Council.

Committee Dates

The Schedule includes meeting details for University Council and Council committees, Academic Senate and its committees, as well as Faculty and other University Committees.