We use cookies to improve your experience on our site and to show you personalised advertising. To find out more, read our privacy policy and cookie policy

Our people

Academics and Staff

Sociology (Discipline leader)

Dr Andrew Whelan
awhelan@uow.edu.au

Politics & International Studies (Discipline leader)

Dr Marcelo Svirsky
msvirsky@uow.edu.au 

Languages & Linguistics (Discipline leader)

Dr Xiaoping Gao
xiaoping@uow.edu.au

Cultural Studies, Indigenous Studies, Science & Technology Studies and Environmental Humanities (Discipline leader)

Professor Ian Buchanan
ibuchana@uow.edu.au 

Dr Anu Bissoonauth-Bedford
Senior Lecturer - Languages (French)
anu@uow.edu.au

Dr Fiona Borthwick
Lecturer - Sociology
fiona@uow.edu.au

Dr André Brett
Research Fellow
abrett@uow.edu.au 

Dr Stephen Brown
Senior Lecturer - History
sbrown@uow.edu.au

Professor Ian Buchanan
Professor - Cultural Studies & Discipline Leader - CITE
ibuchana@uow.edu.au

Dr Jane Carey
Senior Lecturer - History and Head of Postgraduate Studies
jcarey@uow.edu.au

Dr Sharon Crozier-De Rosa
Senior Lecturer - History & Honours Coordinator
sharoncd@uow.edu.au

Dr Karen Daly
Senior Lecturer - Languages (Spanish)
kdaly@uow.edu.au

Dr Tim DiMuzio
Associate Professor - Politics & International Studies
tdimuzio@uow.edu.au

Dr Shoshana Dreyfus
Senior Lecturer - Linguistics
shooshi@uow.edu.au

Dr Joakim Eidenfalk
Lecturer - Politics & International Studies
joakim@uow.edu.au

Associate Professor Susan Engel
Senior Lecturer - Politics & International Studies
sengel@uow.edu.au

Dr Xiaoping Gao
Senior Lecturer - Languages (Mandarin)
xiaoping@uow.edu.au

Dr Charles Hawksley
Senior Lecturer & Discipline Leader - Politics & International Studies
charlesh@uow.edu.au

Dr Alfie Herrero De Haro
Senior Lecturer (Spanish) & Discipline Leader - Languages & Linguistics
alfredo@uow.edu.au

Dr Keith Horton
Lecturer - Philosophy
khorton@uow.edu.au

Associate Professor Richard Howson
Associate Professor - Sociology
rhowson@uow.edu.au 

Dr Klem James
Lecturer - Languages (French)
klem@uow.edu.au

David Kampers
Lecturer - Indigenous Studies
dkampers@uow.edu.au

Associate Professor Di Kelly
Associate Professor - History
di@uow.edu.au

Dr Helen Kilpatrick
Senior Lecturer - Languages (Japanese)
helenk@uow.edu.au

Dr Michael Kirchhoff
Senior Lecturer & Discipline Leader - Philosophy
kirchhof@uow.edu.au 

Dr Jason Lim
Senior Lecturer - History
jlim@uow.edu.au

Dr Claire Lowrie
Senior Lecturer - History
clowrie@uow.edu.au

Dr Adam Lucas
Senior Lecturer - Science & Technology Studies
alucas@uow.edu.au

Dr Nicola Marks
Senior Lecturer - Sociology
nicolam@uow.edu.au

Associate Professor Julia Martinez
Associate Professor - History
juliam@uow.edu.au

Dr Patrick McGivern
Senior Lecturer - Philosophy
patrickm@uow.edu.au

Dr Jordan McKenzie
Lecturer - Sociology
jordanmc@uow.edu.au

Professor Greg Melleuish
Professor - Politics
gmelleui@uow.edu.au

Associate Professor David Mercer
Associate Professor - Science & Technology Studies
dmercer@uow.edu.au

Dr Alison Moore
Senior Lecturer -  Linguistics
amoore@uow.edu.au

Dr David Neil
Lecturer - Philosophy
dneil@uow.edu.au

Dr Hironori Onuki
Lecturer - International Studies
honuki@uow.edu.au

Associate Professor Phil Orchard
Associate Professor - International Studies
orchardp@uow.edu.au

Dr Mariolina Pais Marden
Lecturer - Languages (Italian)
mpm@uow.edu.au

Dr Roger Patulny
Senior Lecturer - Sociology
rpatulny@uow.edu.au

Associate Professor Evan Poata-Smith
Associate Professor & Discipline Leader - Indigenous Studies
evanps@uow.edu.au

Professor Fiona Probyn-Rapsey
Professor - Cultural Studies
fionapr@uow.edu.au

Dr Quah Ee Ling Sharon
Senior Lecturer & Discipline Leader - Sociology
sharonq@uow.edu.au

Dr Jen Roberts
Lecturer - History
jenr@uow.edu.au

Ms Ritsuko Saito
Lecturer - Languages (Japanese)
rsaito@uow.edu.au

Dr Glenda Satne
Vice Chancellor Fellow - Philosophy
gsatne@uow.edu.au

Dr Lei-Min Shi
Lecturer - Languages (Mandarin)
lshi@uow.edu.au

Dr Lisa Slater
Senior Lecturer - Cultural Studies
slater@uow.edu.au

Associate Professor Frances Steel

Head of School
Associate Professor & Discipline leader - History
fsteel@uow.edu.au

 

Dr Marcelo Svirsky
Senior Lecturer & Discipline leader - Politics & International Studies
msvirsky@uow.edu.au

Professor Simon Ville
Professor - History
sville@uow.edu.au

Dr Rowena Ward
Senior Lecturer - Languages (Japanese)
roward@uow.edu.au

Dr Andrew Whelan
Senior Lecturer & Discipline Leader - Sociology
awhelan@uow.edu.au

Senior Professorial Fellow

Senior Professor Vera Mackie
vera@uow.edu.au

Honorary Professorial Fellows

Professor Sarah Ferber
sferber@uow.edu.au 

Professor Stephen Hill
sthill@uow.edu.au 

Professor Terry Irving
tirving@uow.edu.au 

Dr Sukhmani Khorana

Professor Brian Martin
bmartin@uow.edu.au 

Professor Ted Wolfers
ewolfers@uow.edu.au 

Honorary Senior Fellows

Associate Professor Georgine Clarsen
georgine@uow.edu.au

Mr Henri Jeanjean
henrij@uow.edu.au

A/Prof Gaetano Rando
grando@uow.edu.au

Honorary Principal Fellow

Dr Elizabeth Thomson
ethomson@uow.edu.au

Honorary Post-Doctoral Research Associates

Dr Paula Arvela
aparvela@uow.edu.au 

Dr Lukas Bauer
lbauer@uow.edu.au 

Kirsten Bissett
School Manager

Liz Mazar
Administrative Officer

 

Contact the team via email: hsi-admin@uow.edu.au

Beatrice Knight
Administrative Assistant to Head of School

Christine Anderson
Administrative Assistant

Close