What do better bras for women with large breasts, drone surveillance and commercialisation in Roads and Maritime Services (RMS) and a device to measure head trauma have in common? They were all winning entries to this year’s UOW Pitch Competition.

UOW Pitch provides bright, energetic entrepreneurial-minded staff and students with the opportunity to turn their bright ideas into reality through seed funding via cash prizes. This year more than $40,000 cash was awarded to a number of staff and students for their innovative ideas.

Applicants were encouraged to submit their ideas, no matter what stage of development they were at, with the best ideas shortlisted and successful entrants invited to training conducted by an industry expert. Short listed applicants were then given the opportunity to present their pitch to a panel of UOW and industry experts.

Celeste Coltman, Dr Deirdre McGhee and Professor Julie Steele took out first prize in the staff section with their idea for Better bras for women with large breasts. Their idea was to make physical activity more comfortable and enjoyable for women by designing better fitting bras, through the use of three-dimensional scanning technology and customised designs.

A custom built drone fitted with first person view cameras and a 360-degree camera was the brain-child of undergraduate student winner Sam Noakes. His idea could potentially take the risk and harm out of existing methods by allowing the inspection and surveillance of the inside of culverts for RMS through his custom built drone.

Postgraduate student winner Ben Coman took out first prize with The Halo, a device that when mounted to an impact protection helmet could analyse environment movements and detect any critical impact resulting in probable head trauma.

2016 UOW Pitch Prize Winners


Winner ($6,000): Celeste Coltman, Dr Deirdre McGhee & Professor Julie Steele - Better bras for women with large breasts

Runner Up ($4,000): Dr Abheek Basu, Saber Mostafavian & Kishan Kariippanon - Suicide Proof Ceiling Fan

Best Pitch ($2,000): Dr Robert Gorkin & Dr Alfred Chidembo - Aussie Books for Zim

Encouragement Award ($1,000): Dr Prashan Premaratne - Hit-and-miss engine based dual axial flux generator

Encouragement Award ($1,000): Associate Professor Kate Senior & Laura Grozdanovski - Life Happens

Encouragement Award ($1,000) - Dr Haibo Xie & Professor Zhengyi Jiang with Novel desktop two-high micro asymmetrical rolling mill

Undergraduate Students

Winner ($6,000): Sam Noakes - Drone Surveillance & Commercialisation In RMS

Runner Up ($4,000): Tor Gjerde - The compact portable charger: MOJO+

Best Pitch ($2,000): James Sherley & Harrison Hall - CERCLE

Encouragement Award ($1,000): Kihan Garcia-Clarkson & George Harriman - Fliight

Encouragement Award ($1,000): Josh Brown, Charles d’Artagnan, Johanna Steriovski & Andrew Rickatson - SKYHUD

Encouragement Award ($1,000): Karolina Ristevski - StageIt

Postgraduate Students

Winner ($6,000):  Ben Coman - The HALO

Runner Up ($4,000): Yi Guo- A membrane assisted liquid desiccant air conditioning

Best Pitch ($2,000): Saber Mostafavian & Sao Ian (Marco) Leong - SOOMA

Encouragement Award ($1,500): Alex Nagle, Zhi Chen, Jianfeng Li, Charles Hamilton & Yan Zong - Bioink 

Encouragement Award ($1,500): Kye Adams - Project AIRSHIP 

More at: http://media.uow.edu.au/news/UOW222379.html

NSW Pearcey Pitching Competition 2016

The NSW Tech Entrepreneur of the Year Awards were presented in a packed house on Tuesday 18th October at NSW Parliament House, by the Hon Victor Dominello, NSW Minister for Innovation.
The evening celebrated ICT entrepreneurship in NSW for Entrepreneurs, Tertiary Students & Researchers and High School Students.

In the Tertiary Students & Researchers category eight groups of students from four Universities participated in a competition of pitching business plans and ideas before a panel of industry judges. Competing universities were: University of Wollongong (UOW), University of Sydney, University of NSW and the University of Technology Sydney.

The winners were:
First PrizeWill Pazos, “Moments” (UNSW)
Second Prize: Benjamin Coman, “Halo” (UOW)
Third Prize (shared between): Saber Mostafavian & Sao Ian Leong, “Sooma” (UOW) and Solange Cunin, “Cuberider” (UNSW)

“This is an outstanding achievement and demonstrates that when it comes to innovation and entrepreneurial spirit, UOW excels well beyond its size.  With the advent of iAccelerate we now also have the pathway ready for entrepreneurs from anywhere to get the assistance they need to help them create great companies,” said Chief Executive Officer of iAccelerate Mr Omar Khalifa. 

More at: https://pearcey.org.au/nsw/