A UOW public health researcher has been awarded the discipline’s highest honour - the Sidney Sax Award.

Professor Heather Yeatman, Head of UOW’s School of Health and Society, received the award at the  joint Public Health Association of Australia (PHAA) and  Chronic Diseases Network conference dinner.

“I was so shocked by the announcement and feel honoured to receive the award among public health greats including Neal Blewett AC, Stephen Leeder AO, Simon Chapman AO and Mike Daube and Nicola Roxon,” Professor Yeatman, a past president of the PHAA, said.

“I feel so humbled to be recognised for my work in the public health field and hope to live up to the award.”

The PHAA bestows the Sidney Sax Award each year to a person who has provided a notable contribution to the protection and promotion of public health, solving public health problems, advancing community awareness of public health measures and advancing the ideals and practice of equity in the provision of health care.

“Heather is utterly deserving of this award,” CEO of the PHAA, Micheal Moore, said.

“She has made enormous contributions to public health especially in food and nutrition. Her dedication to the PHAA as president of the Board since 2012 has played an integral part in establishing the strong advocacy work the PHAA presents today.

“She has served two terms as President on the Board and will stay on as Vice-President of Development. Her knowledge and experience is paramount to developing strong policies especially in food and nutrition,” he said.

Professor Yeatman has worked in food and nutrition policy across the spectrum of local, state, national and international levels and has held leadership positions on numerous government and non-government boards and committees, including food standards, complementary medicines, animal welfare and agricultural chemicals.