News Events & Awards

Awards and prizes

Our outstanding researchers are regularly rewarded and acknowledged with internal and external research awards and prizes. Congratulations to all our researchers on their achievements.

UOW Awards

Vice Chancellor's Staff Awards 2017

External Awards, Prizes & Fellowships

Distinguished Professor Buddhima Indraratna International Association for Computer Methods and Advances in Geomechanics Outstanding Contributions Medal 2017
Distinguished Professor Gordon Wallace NSW Scientist of the Year
Professor Chris Gibson Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences Australia
Associate Professor Adam Trevitt 2017 Michael Guilhaus Research Award - Australian and New Zealand Society for Mass Spectrometry (ANZSMS)
Dr Siobhan McHugh Documentary and Storytelling - Castaway Awards  and  gold at the New York Radio Festival
Associate Professor Barbara Meyer Nutrition Society of Australia - NSA Medal
Professor Aidan Sims Australian Mathematical Society - Award for Mathematical Excellence under 40 years
Dr Jenny Fisher L'Oreal Award - UNESCO For Women in Science Australian Fellow | Media Release 
Associate Professor Bronwyn Carlson Academy of Social Sciences in Australia Paul Bourke Award for Early Career Research  |  Panel Commendation: Sociology
Professor Pauline McGuirk Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia
Professor Heather Yeatman Public Health Association of Australia Inc - Sidney Sax Award
Distinguished Professor Gordon Wallace  Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Leadership and Innovation in Science
Associate Professor Julia Quilter Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology Allen Austin Bartholomew Award
Professor Colin Murray-Wallace Australian Academy of Science 2016 Mawson Medal and Lecture (awarded in 2015)
Professor Buddhima Indraratna Railway Technical Society of Australasia Individual Award
Thomas Telford Premium Award for 2014 Best Paper: Ground Improvement
Distinguished Professor Richard (Bert) Roberts & Associate Professor Zenobia Jacobs Thomson Reuters Citation Award
Associate Professor Adam Trevitt Bowie Medal for Research Excellence in Mass Spectrometry
Professor Lesley Head Vega Medal
Professor Linda Tapsell Member of the Order of Australia
Honorary Professor Hugh Mackay Officer of the Order of Australia
Distinguished Professor Noel Cressie Pitman Medal
Professor Buddhima Indraratna Chandra S. Desai Medal
Professor Marc in het Panhuis Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry
Distinguished Professor Gordon Wallace Honorary Doctorate in Science, Hanbat University (Korea)
Dr Siobhan McHugh Inaugural Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year
Bronze Medal, New York Radio Festival
Dr Ngamta Natalie Thamwattana John Henry Mitchell Medal, Australian and New Zealand Industrial and Applied Mathematics
Professor Neil Williams Haddon Forrester King Medal, Australian Academy of Science
Professor Lorna Moxham, Susan Liersch-Sumskis, Renee Brighton, Chris Patterson Major Partnerships in Wellbeing Award 2013, Australian College of Mental Health Nurses
Dr Michael Kelso RACI Biota Award
Professor Hua Kun Liu ATSE Fellow
Dr Zenobia Jacobs Scopus Young Researcher of the Year
UOW-DSTO Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia
Professor Paul Cooper and Team UOW Solar Decathlon 2013
Professor Alison Jones American Academy of Clinical Toxicology Fellow
Dr Gerald Nanson David Linton Award, British Society for Geomorphology
Dr Bronwyn Carlson Stanner Award, Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
Professor Colin Woodroffe RJ Russel Award, Association of American Geographers
Ting XiangRen Australian Bulk Handling Review Award
Professor John Norrish Outstanding Contribution to Research and Teaching in Welding and Joing, Welding Institute of Australia
Professor Kiet Tieu William Johnson International Gold Medal
Associate Professor Alex Remennikov Design Award, Australian Steel Institute
Professor John Rossiter Steenkemap Award
Professor Stephen Pyne Birch Medal, Royal Australian Chemical Institute
iiMH Research Excellence, National Drug & Alcohol Awards
Professor Paul Wellings Commander of the Order of the British Empire for Services to Higher Education
Associate Professor Stephen Andersen Order of Australia Medal
Professor Philip Clingan Order of Australia Medal
Professor Jennifer Seberry Fellow of the International Association for Cryptologic Research
Associate Professor Brian Cambourne William S Gray Citation of Merit, International Reading Association
Professor Buddhima Indraratna Medal of the Eurasian National University
Professor Linda Tapsell Honorary Life Member, Dietitians Association of Australia
Professor Salim Bouzerdoum Eureka Prize
Professor Buddhima Indraratna Engineers Australia Transport Medal
Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering
Professor Lesley Head Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia
Professor John Bremner RACI Distinguished Fellowship Award
Bronwyn Lang Prime Minister's Asia Australia Endeavour Award
Professor Kiet Tieu Quangcheng Friendship Award, Jinan Municipal government
Qilu Friendship Award, Shandong Provincial Government (China)
Professor Gordon Waitt Fellow Geographical Society of NSW
Dennis Black Royal Society of NSW Scholarship
Last reviewed: 5 December, 2017
Graduate Research School

Graduate Research School

Innovation & Commercial Research

Innovation Campus ICR