Three Minute Thesis


The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition celebrates the exciting research conducted by Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) students. Developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), 3MT cultivates students’ academic, presentation, and research communication skills. The competition supports their capacity to effectively explain their research in three minutes, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience with the assistance of one power point slide.

The UOW 3MT final will feature two students chosen from each Faculty. Each student will deliver a presentation on their thesis topic in just three minutes. Prizes will be awarded for the winner, runner-up and people’s choice, which is voted for by the attendees on the evening. Following the presentation, audience members are invited to stay for refreshments and award presentations. This year, our 3MT competition is sponsored by UniBank with the winner, runner-up and people’s choice awards being presented by Unibank and prize money provided through a UniBank savings account.

The winner of the UOW Three Minute Thesis Competition will then go on to (3MT®) Asia-Pacific final Competition which will be held at The University of Queensland on Friday 4 October 2019. For more information about the Three Minute Thesis Asia-Pacific competition click here. Participants are encouraged to review the competition rules, judging criteria, eligibility, 3MT competitor guide and FAQs for competitors on the Three Minute Thesis Asia-Pacific resources page.

The 2019 UOW Three Minute Thesis Final will be held on Thursday 25th July 2019 from 5:30pm – 7:30pm including the competition, followed by refreshments and announcement of the competition winners.

To be in the audience click the below link:

Register Here

Further Information

Please contact the Graduate Research School on 4221 5452 or email graduate-research-school@uow.edu.au

Previous winners

Winner: Chuhao Liu (EIS): Find the Best ‘Jeans’ for Railway Foundations
Runner-up: Samson Soulsby (LHA): Monster in the Mirror: Personhood in Contemporary Monster Fiction
People's Choice Award: Jenny Norman (SOC): Sustained Impact of Energy Dense Food Advertising on Children's Dietary Intake

Watch the winning presentation

Winner: Brianna Knowles (AIIM): Antifouling coatings: Just add water
Runner-up: Yvonne Ellis (SOC): Sitting time for preschoolers at childcare: How much and how to intervene?
People's Choice Award: Dan Yuan (EIS): Lab on a chip micro device: New method to improve cancer detection

Watch the winning presentation

Winner: Ika Damayanti (SOC): From Storytelling to Story Writing: A Learning Journey of English Language Learners in Indonesia
Runner-up: Chen Shen (EIS): Wire-Arc Additive Manufacturing Process: The More Advanced Metal Printer
People's Choice: Thomas Simnadis (SMAH): Novel Grains for the Australian Food Supply

Watch the winning presentation 

Winner: Frederick Steven Wells (AIIM): Slow-mo Superconductors
Runner-up: Claire Wright (LHA): Occupying the Interdisciplinary Space
People's Choice: Fredy Munoz (EIS): A drug delivery system for capsule robots

Watch the winning presentation

Winner: Colin Cortie (SMAH): Of Mice, Pigs and Men: The fats of long life
Runner-up: Katherine Caldwell (SMAH): Falvonoids for thought: A cherry on top brings memory benefits
People's Choice: Tongfei Tan (EIS): Safer high-performance electrolyte for electric vehicle batteries

Watch the winning presentation

Winner: Melinda Waterman (SMAH): BryoFight Club
Runner-up: Joel Kennedy (EIS): Distribution system protection schemes in a modern grid embedded with renewable energy resources
People's Choice: Ming Li (EIS): Lab-on-a-chip modrodevices for manipulation and separation of microparticles

Watch the winning presentation

Winner: Kevin Loo (EIS): Brachy View: In-body imaging for cancer treatment

Watch the winning presentation

Winner: Jen Hawksley (Faculty of Arts): Bereft: The extremities of wartime bereavement among Australian parents
Runner-up (shared): Janine Delahunty (Faculty of Education): Learning from a distance: Getting connected...feeling connected & Jennifer Heath (School of Informatics): A secondary use of medical data model informed by consumer privacy preferences
People's Choice: Damian Kirchmajer (Faculty of Science): Gelatin for tissue engineering

Watch the presentations

Winner: Mr Cameron Ferris (IPRI): Printed patches for a broken heart
Runner-up: Ms Van Tran (Faculty of Education): They are to blame, not us: the authoritative voice in quality issues of postgraduate education in Vietnam
People's Choice: Jie Yang (ICT-R): Can we help Google search?

Watch the winning presentation



Last reviewed: 21 May, 2019