Animal

Animal Ethics

The University of Wollongong has established the Animal Ethics Committee (AEC) to review the ethical aspects of research and teaching for the care and use of animals for scientific purposes.

The AEC is constituted in accordance with the NHMRC Australian Code for the Care and Use of Animals for Scientific Purposes (8th Edition 2013).

Before conducting or commencing any research investigation, staff and students of the University are required to submit a research ethics application to the AEC and obtain approval to ensure that all statutory requirements are met.

Meeting Dates 2019 | Animal Ethics Committee

Agenda Deadline*

Meeting Date

Friday - 28 September 2018 Thursday - 25 October 2018
Friday - 9 November 2018 Thursday - 6 December 2018
Friday - 25 January 2019 Thursday - 21 February 2019
Friday - 15 March 2019 Thursday - 11 April 2019
Friday - 26 April 2019 Thursday - 23 May 2019
Friday - 31 May 2019Thursday - 27 June 2019
Friday - 19 July 2019 Thursday - 15 August 2019
Friday - 30 August 2019Thursday - 26 September 2019
Friday - 4 October 2019 Thursday - 31 October 2019
Friday - 8 November 2019 Thursday - 5 December 2019

* Agenda deadlines are the dates by which applications must be received at the Research Services Office by the Ethics Unit. Agenda items must be submitted by 12noon.

Meeting time: 12:30pm 

Venue: RSO Presentation Room 20.109 

Meeting Dates 2019 | Animal Ethics Sub-Committee

Agenda Deadline*

Meeting Details

Thursday 31 January 2019 Thursday 7 February 2019
Tuesday 12 March 2019 Tuesday 19 March 2019

* Agenda deadlines are the dates by which amendment requests must be received at the Research Services Office by the Ethics Unit (Note: applications may only be considered at a full committee meeting.

Animal Research Ethics Committee

Committee Membership

The University of Wollongong Animal Ethics Committee is constituted according to the Australian Code for the Care and Use of Animals for Scientific Purposes 8th Edition 2013.  The membership comprises at least one person from each of the following categories, and Categories C and D must together represent at least one-third of the Animal Ethics Committee membership.

CHAIR
 Category A - Veterinarian
A person with qualifications in veterinary science that are recognised for registration as a veterinary surgeon in Australia, and with experience relevant to the institution's activities or the ability to acquire relevant knowledge.

Category B - Animal Researcher
A suitably qualified person with substantial recent experience in the use of animals for scientific purposes relevant to the institution and the business of the Animal Ethics Committee.  This must include possession of a higher degree in research or equivalent experience.

Category C - Animal Welfare Member
A person with demonstrable commitment to, and established experience in, furthering the welfare of animals, who is not employed by or otherwise associated with the institution, and who is not currently involved in the care and use of animals for scientific purposes. The person should, where possible, be selected on basis of active membership of, and endorsement by, such an organisation.

Category D - Lay Person
A person not employed by, or otherwise associated with, the institution and who has never been involved in the use of animals in scientific or teaching activities, either in their employment or beyond their undergraduate education.

Animal Welfare Officer

Ethicist

 

Email Contact

rso-aec@uow.edu.au

Last reviewed: 22 January, 2019