Awards and prizes

Our outstanding researchers are regularly rewarded and acknowledged with external research awards and prizes. Congratulations to all our researchers on their achievements.


Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researchers

Professor Elizabeth Halcomb

Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Research 2018 

Distinguished Professor Noel Cressie


Distinguished Professor Buddhima Indraratna

Distinguished Professor Gordon Wallace

Professor Chris Gibson

Associate Professor Adam Trevitt

Dr Siobhan McHugh


Associate Professor Barbara Meyer

Professor Aidan Sims

Dr Jenny Fisher

Associate Professor Bronwyn Carlson

  • Academy of Social Sciences in Australia Paul Bourke Award for Early Career Research  |  Panel Commendation: Sociology

Professor Pauline McGuirk

  • Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia

Professor Heather Yeatman

Distinguished Professor Gordon Wallace

Associate Professor Julia Quilter


Professor Colin Murray-Wallace

  • Australian Academy of Science 2016 Mawson Medal and Lecture (awarded in 2015)

Professor Buddhima Indraratna

  • Railway Technical Society of Australasia Individual Award - Thomas Telford Premium Award for 2014 Best Paper: Ground Improvement

Distinguished Professor Richard (Bert) Roberts

  • Thomson Reuters Citation Award

Associate Professor Zenobia Jacobs

  • Thomson Reuters Citation Award

Associate Professor Adam Trevitt

  • Bowie Medal for Research Excellence in Mass Spectrometry

Professor Lesley Head

  • Vega Medal

Professor Linda Tapsell

  • Member of the Order of Australia

Honorary Professor Hugh Mackay

  • Officer of the Order of Australia


Distinguished Professor Noel Cressie

  • Pitman Medal

Professor Buddhima Indraratna

  • Chandra S. Desai Medal

Professor Marc in het Panhuis

  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry

Distinguished Professor Gordon Wallace

  • Honorary Doctorate in Science, Hanbat University (Korea)

Dr Siobhan McHugh

  • Inaugural Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year
  • Bronze Medal, New York Radio Festival

Dr Ngamta Natalie Thamwattana

  • John Henry Mitchell Medal, Australian and New Zealand Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Professor Neil Williams

  • Haddon Forrester King Medal, Australian Academy of Science


Professor Lorna Moxham, Susan Liersch-Sumskis, Renee Brighton, Chris Patterson

  • Major Partnerships in Wellbeing Award 2013, Australian College of Mental Health Nurses

Dr Michael Kelso

  • RACI Biota Award

Professor Hua Kun Liu

  • ATSE Fellow

Dr Zenobia Jacobs

  • Scopus Young Researcher of the Year

UOW-DSTO partnership

  • Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia

Professor Paul Cooper and Team UOW

  • Solar Decathlon 2013

Professor Alison Jones

  • American Academy of Clinical Toxicology Fellow

Dr Gerald Nanson

  • David Linton Award, British Society for Geomorphology

Dr Bronwyn Carlson

  • Stanner Award, Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies


Last reviewed: 26 November, 2018