The Centre for Bioinformatics and Biometrics (CBB) is one of 5 key centres within NIASRA. The majority of funding comes from the Grains Research and Development Corporation through the “Statistics for the Australian Grains Industry” project, a national project across five nodes and four Australian states, with a budget of over $5m.

Director: Senior Professor Brian Cullis

UOW SCHOLARS

Phone: +61 2 4221 5641
Emailbrian_cullis@uow.edu.au
Location: Building 39C Room 266

Aim

The primary aim of CBB is to ensure that researchers in the bio-sciences (with particular applications to agriculture, forestry and other sustainable primary industries) apply appropriate statistical methodologies for the design, analysis and interpretation of research activities. This will improve cost efficiency, sound inference and encourage rapid adoption of research outcomes.

We achieve this aim through collaboration with industry and research provider organisations by delivering statistical solutions to real problems. Our research themes are driven by these collaborations and we have an active and expanding training programme at both post-graduate and under-graduate levels.

Major research projects

  • Statistics for the Australian Grains Industry
  • Statistics for the Australian Pork Industry
  • Pasture Variety Trial
  • Genomic Selection
  • National Variety Trials
  • Capacity Building

Our people

Senior Prof Brian Cullis
CBB Director and Professor
Email: bcullis@uow.edu.au

Dr Alison Smith
Principal Research Fellow
Email: alismith@uow.edu.au

Dr David Butler
Principal​ Research Fellow
Email: dbutler@uow.edu.au

Dr Ky Mathews
Senior Research Fellow
Email: kmathews@uow.edu.au

Chris Lisle
CBB Deputy Director, Research Fellow and PhD Student
Email: chris_lisle@uow.edu.au

 
 

Jess Meza
Associate Research Fellow
Email: jess_meza@uow.edu.au

Dr Ramethaa Pirathiban
Associate Research Fellow
Email: ramethaa_pirathiban@uow.edu.au

Nicole Cocks
Honorary Fellow
Email: ncocks@uow.edu.au

Luke Mazur
Research Fellow
Email: lmazur@uow.edu.au

David Hughes
Associate Research Fellow
Email: hughesd@uow.edu.au

 

Dr Bev Gogel
Senior Research Fellow
Email: bgogel@uow.edu.au

Nicholas Lambert
Associate Research Fellow
Email: nicholas_lambert@uow.edu.au

Lu Wang
Associate Research Fellow
Email: luw@uow.edu.au

Simon Diffey
Honorary Fellow

Robin Thompson
Honorary Fellow

 

ASReml.org
ASReml is a statistical software package for fitting linear mixed models using restricted maximum likelihood, a technique commonly used in plant and animal breeding and quantitative genetics as well as other fields.

AASC 2016 Slides
Presentation slides from the Australiasian Applied Statistics Conference, 28 November - 2 December 2016, The Windsong Pavilion, Four Winds, Barragga Bay NSW.

Symposium on Bioinformatics and Biometrics for Plant Breeding Programs
25-26 July 2018 at University of Wollongong

SAGI Symposium
8-9th August 2018 at Sustainable Buildings Research Centre, Innovation Campus, University of Wollongong