Faculty of Science

Bachelor of Science

Testamur Title of Degree:

Bachelor of Science



Home Faculty:



Minimum 3 years full-time or part-time equivalent
(Full-time duration could vary depending on the major chosen, please see entry requirements for more information)

Total Credit Points:


Delivery Mode:

On campus (Face-to-face)

Starting Session(s):

Autumn or Spring



UOW Course Code:


UAC Code:





Students may gain a comprehensive education in Science by selecting a major study and a range of elective subjects. The major studies areas are Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geology, Geosciences, Human Geography and Physical Geography. Other interdisciplinary majors are Environment, Land and Heritage Management, Medical Biotechnology, Medicinal Chemistry and Nanotechnology.

The flexible structure of the major and electives allows students to design their study program to meet their particular interests and abilities. Students may combine their chosen Science major with a second major in Science, or an approved major chosen from outside the Faculty, or with a range of elective subjects.

Entry Requirements / Assumed Knowledge

Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) of 75 (or equivalent). The ATAR is reviewed each year.

Assumed Knowledge: Mathematics and any two units of Science. Students who have not completed Biology and/or Chemistry at the HSC are strongly recommended to enrol in bridging courses offered in February each year. Students without at least HSC Mathematics Band 4 (or equivalent) are required to take a Mathematics subject (usually MATH151) in the first year.

Mid-year entry for the Bachelor of Science (Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Environment, Medical Biotechnology, Medicinal Chemistry or Nanotechnology) must be in consultation with the relevant Head of the School. For these majors, the minimum duration to complete the degree after mid-year entry is 3½ years full-time or part-time equivalent.

Course Requirements

Bachelor of Science requirements fall into one of three categories, as follows:

    1. At least one major chosen from disciplines located in the Faculty of Science. A major study consists of at least 90 credit points from the Science Schedule of which at least 60 credit points are from one of the Faculty of Science disciplines: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geology, Geosciences, Human Geography and Physical Geography,

    The balance of 54 credit points (to a degree total of 144) may be chosen from either the Science Schedule or General Schedule and may include a second major or a selection of complementary or contrasting subjects, or other subjects with the approval of the Dean or Associate Dean. A minimum of 32 credit points at 300-level is required.

    2. One major from within the Faculty of Science and an approved co-major from outside the Faculty. In this category, where an approved major is combined with a Science major, the requirement of at least 90 credit points from the Science Schedule is waived.

    3. Note: Students wishing to undertake a major program involving a discipline outside of the Faculty of Science, as in 2 above, must first obtain approval from the relevant Head of School and verify their planned study program.

    4. One of the five interdisciplinary, prescribed majors, as follows: Environment, Land and Heritage Management, Medical Biotechnology, Medicinal Chemistry, Nanotechnology

For the Bachelor of Science (Physics): Refer to the Faculty of Engineering.


Students with a good academic record, particularly in third year, are encouraged to proceed to the Honours year in the discipline of their major. The Honours year is a fourth year of study that provides training in independent research.

For further information refer to the separate entry for the Bachelor of Science Honours (741).

Major Study Areas

Biological Sciences





Human Geography

Land and Heritage Management

Medical Biotechnology

Medicinal Chemistry


Physical Geography

Other Information

The Degree Coordinator is the Associate Dean, Associate Professor Paul Carr, 41.259, telephone +61 2 4221 3804, email: pcarr@uow.edu.au.

Students who have not declared a major should seek advice from the Associate Dean.

Students who have declared a major should contact an Academic Advisor in the relevant School.

For further information contact the Faculty of Science Office, Room 41.258, or telephone +61 2 4221 3530.