Role of Admin Units and Directors

Administrative Directors

DVC (Academic) Portfolio 

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students): Professor Julia Coyle
Executive Officer Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Portfolio: Ms Julie Sikora
Director, Academic Quality & Standards: Mr Dominic Riordan
Student Ombudsman: Associate Professor Margaret Wallace
Director, Library Services: Ms Margie Jantti, AALIA
Director, Learning, Teaching & Curriculum: Professor Maarten de Laat
Deputy Director, Learning, Teaching & Curriculum: Dr Lisa Thomas
Education Analytics: David Fulcher
Director Strategic Planning: Ms Maureen Dibden
Director Strategic Marketing and Communications: Ms Emily Osborne
Director, Graduate Career Development & Employability: Ms Nuala O’Donnell
Manager, Student Support and Transition: Ms Tracey Todd
Senior Manager, Student Life Programs: Ms Fran Walder
Manager, Student Diversity, Outreach & Co-curricular (UOWx), Ms Kylie Austin

Areas of Responsibility:

  • Educational Policy, Quality and Standards
  • Student Services inc Careers, Counselling, Disabilities Services and Outreach
  • Library
  • Teaching & Learning Development
  • Strategic Planning, Marketing and Communications

Facilities Management Division

Interim Director FMD: Kathleen Packer
Areas of Responsibility:

  • Building Construction
  • Maintenance
  • Energy Management
  • Landscape
  • Cleaning and Commercial Services
  • Security

Financial Services

Chief Finance Officer: Mr Damien Israel
Director Financial Operations: Mr Matthew Wright
Areas of Responsibility:

  • Records Administration
  • Accounts
  • Budgets & Financial Reporting
  • Purchasing
  • Insurance
  • Motor Vehicles
  • Costing 

Governance and Legal Division

Director: Dr Nancy Huggett
Areas of Responsibility:

  • Legal Services
  • Records Management
  • Complaints Management
  • Access to Information
  • Privacy
  • Policy Coordination
  • Central Committee Support
  • Elections
  • Governance Services 

Human Resources Division

Director: Ms Sue Thomas
Areas of Responsibility:

  • Staff Recruitment
  • Employee Relations
  • Employment Equity and Diversity
  • Classifications and Remuneration
  • Salaries and Benefits
  • Occupational Health & Safety
  • Career Development
  • Personnel Administration

Information Management Technology Services

Chief Finance Officer: Mr Damien Israel
Director: Ms Fiona Rankin
Areas of Responsibility:

  • IT Infrastructure
  • Student Computing Support Services
  • Network & Telecommunication Services
  • Desktop Management
  • Server Management
  • Core Systems Development and Support
  • IT staff Training and user support
  • IT Policy

Innovation and Commercial Research

Director: Klaus Krauter
Commercial Research Manager: Stuart Parker
Innovation Development Senior Manager: Dr Tamantha Stutchbury
Areas of Responsibility:

  • Development and management of the UOW Innovation Strategy
  • Executive support for the DVC(R&I), PVC(R) and Directors of Research Strengths in the pursuit of new research initiatives and other major policy issues
  • Manage commercialisation activities, including contract management
  • Manage Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) interactions

Research and Innovation Division

Research Services Office Director: Ms Sharon Martin
Graduate Research School Manager: Ms Sue Flint
Areas of Responsibility:

  • Management and administration of research grants and fellowships
  • Monitoring and promoting ethical practices in research
  • Maintenance and provision of research information
  • Promotion of UOW research activities
  • Development and implementation of Higher Degree Research (HDR) training initiatives.
  • Management and administration of (HDR) enrolments, scholarships and thesis submissions.
  • Development and Management of (HDR) orientations, conferences, seminars/workshops and other HDR events.

Student Services Division

Director: Ms Theresa Hoynes
Areas of Responsibility:

  • Student Administration
  • Student Fees
  • Examinations
  • Graduation
  • Student Recruitment and Admissions

 Please forward any comments or questions about this page to Governance.


Last reviewed: 29 June, 2018

Committee Dates

2019 Schedule of Committee Meetings

This schedule includes meeting details for University Council and Council Committees, Academic Senate and its committees, as well as Faculty and other University Committees.
Please send your 2019 Committee dates or any amendments to Governance.