VC Awards for Excellence

The Ethel Hayton Award

Awarded from 1987 to 1998

The Ethel Hayton Award and Trophy was awarded annually from 1987 to 1998 on University Day to a University of Wollongong staff member or group of staff who enhanced the relationship between the University and the community.

Ethel Hayton, MBE, was one of a group of Illawarra residents who worked towards establishing the University of Wollongong and she continued to demonstrate her support for the University in many different ways until her death in 1998. A founding member of the Friends of the University, she was made a fellow of the University in 1985.

The Ethel Hayton Memorial Trophy, sculptured in bronze and containing the names of the previous recipients, depicts one of the ancient fig trees which were a feature of the original Wollongong campus and around which the University grew. Ethel Hayton commissioned local artist Gino Sanguineti to design the sculpture to commemorate the tenth year of the University’s autonomy from the University of New South Wales. In 1986, the University’s Vice-Chancellor accepted the recommendation by the Friends of the University that this sculpture be known as the Ethel Hayton Trophy. The trophy is currently on loan from the University Art Collection to the Library Archives section.

List of winners

1987 Des Davies, David Vance
1988 John Steinke
1989 Aboriginal Education Unit
1990 Glen Moore
1991 Brian Cambourne, Jan Turbill
1992 Irene Steine
1993 Peter Bannister
1994 Tracey McDonald
1995 Damien Considine
1996 Marian Martin
1997 Ron Pretty
1998 Max Morris

Related Links:

Last reviewed: 9 March, 2017