Academic Visitors and PhD Students


  Prospective PhD Students:

       I am recruiting PhD students who have excellent academic records and strong passion to study any of the following research topics:

  • Applied Cryptography: Digital signatures, security protocols (key agreement protocols, fair exchange etc.), encryption schemes, secret sharing etc.

  • Information Security: Applications of cryptographic primitives, such as authentication (password authentication, RFID etc), identity privacy, key managements, e-cash, e-payment etc.

  • Network Security: Design and analysis of network security mechanisms.

  • Other possible topics in security.

        Applicants, with excellent academic records in math, computer science, or other related majors, could be supported by our university scholarships.  
        To know more details about how to submit your application, please visit Research Student Centre (RSC).

        In addition, Chinese PhD applicants may apply China Scholarship Council - UOW Joint Postgraduate Scholarships Program.

  PhD Students in University of Birmingham: 

  • Fubiao Xia: (Pairings-based Cryptography and Its Applications, Oct. 2008- Oct. 2011) (co-supervised with Dr. Volker Sorge)

  • Rehana Yasmin: (Security and Privacy Issues in Wireless Sensor Networks, Nov. 2008- Nov. 2011) (co-supervised with Dr. Eike Ritter)


   Long-Term Academic Visitors:

  • Prof. Yannian Wang: Department of Computer Science, Zhengzhou University, Zhengzhou, China (8 Dec. 2009 - Dec. 2010)..

  • Mr. Peng Wang: College of Information System and Management, National University of Defense Technology, Changsha, China (4 Nov. 2009 - Nov. 2010).

  • Prof. Qi Xie: School of Information and Engineering, Hangzhou Normal University, Hangzhou, China (17 Sept. 2009 - Sept. 2010). 

  • Dr. Wei Gao: School of Mathematics and Information, Ludong University, Yantai, China (05 Sept - 04 Oct. 2009) .

   Short-Term Academic Visitors:

  • Dr. Shen Tat Goh: Institute for Infocomm Research (I2R), Singapore (16 Nov 2009). 

  • Mr. Matt Burns: Detica, UK (23 Feb. 2009).

  • Dr. Arnold K.L. Yau: Thales, UK (9 Feb. 2008).

  • Dr. Toshiaki Tanaka, Dr. Shinsaku Kiyomoto, and Mr. Kurihara: KDDI R&D Laboratories, Japan (3 Dec 2008).

  • Prof. Kenny Paterson: Information Security Group, Royal Holloway, UK (6 Nov. 2008).

  • Dr. Feng Bao and Mr. Ying Qiu: Institute for Infocomm Research (I2R), Singapore (2-4 Aug. 2008). 

  • Prof. Kouichi Sakurai: Dept. of Computer Science and Communication Engineering, Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan (6-9 April 2008) .

  • Dr. Liqun Chen: HP Labs, UK (25 Feb 2008).


 [Timetable] [Profile] [Publications] [Bibliography on Digital Signatures] [Professional Activities] [Hotlinks]