Human Resources Division

Central Professorial Committee

Terms of Reference

The Central Professorial Committee is responsible for providing recommendations to the Chair of the Committee (Vice-Chancellor) regarding applications for promotion to Professor/ Professorial Fellow.

The Central Professorial Committee shall:

- review promotion applications for Professor (Level E), which have been recommended by the relevant Faculty Promotion Committee or relevant selection committee, against the criteria for the level under the Academic Performance Framework and Academic Staff Position Classification Standards.
- 2. review the Faculty Promotion Committee rationale for unsupported applications and explore areas of concern (if required).
- 3. provide recommendations to the Committee Chair who approves the promotion which will take effect 1 January the following year.

The Committee may:

- 4. at its discretion seek additional information
- 5. at its discretion interview the staff member under consideration, the relevant Supervisor or Executive Dean. Each will have the opportunity to address the Committee in the absence of the other

Committee Membership

The Central Professorial Committee shall consist of:

- The Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
- Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic)
- Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation)
- Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global Strategy)
- Chair of the Academic Senate
- Two professors appointed by the Academic Senate (for a period of three years)

Committee members wanting to take a leave of absence during their term should seek the approval of the Chair of the Committee. Any short term membership replacements will be a matter for the Chair and the Committee to determine.

No more than half of the Committee should be constituted by any one gender. If this is not possible due to the gender of appointees to the positions, the EED Director or nominee will attend the proceedings.

Current Membership

- Prof Paul Wellings (Chair)
- Prof Joe Chicharo (Academic)
- Prof Judy Raper (Research & Innovation)
- Prof Alex Frino (Global Strategy)
- Prof Wilma Vialle (Chair of Senate)
- Prof Jenny Beck & Prof Greg Rose (as nominated by the Chair of Senate)
- Allison Clode, Human Resources as Committee Secretary

Quorum

The quorum for a meeting shall be 80% of the seven (7) members.

Meetings

The Committee will meet once annually in the first week of December each year.

Written notice of place and agenda of meetings shall be given to members at least 10 working days before the scheduled meeting.