Honorary Awards

Honorary Award Recipients

The University recognises outstanding achievement, exceptional service and significant contribution through the granting of the following honorary awards:

See our 2016 honorary award recipients below and read about their commitment to their field and the University.

2017 Honorary Doctorate Recipients

Dr David Gruen - small
David Gruen

Doctor of Science (honoris causa)
Awarded for his outstanding scholarship as an author, academic and commentator, his distinguished service to Australian public policy in the field of economics, and for his valued contribution to this University.

Kathy Lette - small
Kathy Lette
Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Awarded for her contribution to society as a prodigious writer, tenacious social commentator and health and wellbeing advocate.

Dr Adi Paterson - small
Adi Paterson
Doctor of Science (honoris causa)
Awarded for advancing the field of nuclear science and technology and the positive impact his work in public science investment and practical innovation has had on health, industry and the environment.

Complete roll of recipients1976 to present

2017 Emeritus Professorship Recipients

Professor Gerald Nanson - small
Gerald Nanson

Emeritus Professorship
Awarded for his distinguished contribution to Physical Geography and more specifically, Fluvial Geomorphology and Quaternary Science, and his exceptional service and dedication to this University.

Professor Janice Wright - small
Janice Wright
Emeritus Professorship
Awarded for her sustained and outstanding contribution to the study of gender and social inequality in the field of Education, and more specifically, physical and health education.

Complete roll of recipients1978 to present

If you would like any information contained on this webpage to be amended or updated please contact the Alumni Relations Team at alumni@uow.edu.au or 02 4221 3169

Last reviewed: 26 July, 2017