VC Awards for Excellence

Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Community Engagement

Rewarding Community Engagement

The Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Community Engagement was established in 2006 to recognise and encourage exceptional community engagement by a member of the University staff and group of staff. Up to two awards may be made each year - one to an individual member of staff and a second "team" award may be made to a group of staff (usually of no more than six members).

The annual award is open to all staff and carries a prize of $2,000 for the individual award and $2,000 (in total) for the group award. The award(s) will be presented annually at the ‘Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence’ event. 


Guidelines & Nomination Form (pdf version)

Winners for 2016


Highly Commended - Dr Prashan Premaratne, Senior Lecturer School of Electrical, Computer & Telecommunications Engineering (SECTE), EIS

Highly Commended - Associate Professor Louella McCarthy, Academic Leader, Community Engagement, Graduate School of Medicine


Winner - The Recovery Camp - Professor Lorna Moxham, Dr Susan Sumskis, Mr Christopher Patterson, Dr Renee Brighton, Dr Dana Perlman and Ms Ellie Taylor

Highly Commended - Regional Careers Councillor Team - Tania Goodman, Nicole Smith, Saskia Ebejer and Elisabeth Symes

Contact Us

The award is administered by the Advancement Division
Sarah Lisle
Community Engagement Team
Phone: 02 4252 8889

Past Recipients


Related Information Ethel Hayton Award
All Vice-Chancellors Awards


Last reviewed: 14 October, 2016